We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton, CO
1 review
“Wonderful Place!”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Mu husband and I stayed at the Avenue last month for our honeymoon. I booked on the website received a prompt and gracious response from Kevin, the owner. We are not morning people- we have kids- and this was our one chance to be alone for a weekend, so I asked him if there was any chance of having breakfast in our room at a later hour than the 8:30am breakfast time for guests, he immediately said just to let him know what day we wanted it and what time and he would arrange something nice. Very accommodating. Our room (we stayed in the Meadows Room, with a comfy king size bed with great quality bedclothes, wooden walls and ceiling and a TON of windows, as well as a large clean private bathroom!) was beautiful and immaculately clean. The location, right on the edge of the shopping district of downtown Manitou, near all of the shops and parks and resturants, is ideal. We were greeted with a smile and fresh baked chocolate chip cookies. The large, well-kept hottub is located in the gorgeous flower garden and is wonderful! We loved everything about our stay except the clawfoot tub, which was tiny and the unpredictable hot water in the shower, and in view of all of the great things about this place, we considered that a very small inconvenience. Lovely!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ShariGirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    37
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
217
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We recently returned from our second stay at the Avenue B&B...both stays exceeded our expectations. Kevin does an outstanding job as the innkeeper--the rooms are exceptionally clean with private baths and a wonderful front porch for relaxing in between trips to Garden of the Gods, shopping in Manitou, touring Pike's Peak, and running into Colorado Springs. The breakfasts are outstanding--I find myself craving Kevin's stuffed French toast or his delicious egg casserole! Don't even hesitate to book a stay here--you'll plan a return trip for sure!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MUOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Great breakfast, nice rooms, nice hosts, convenient location, only complaint was the bathroom area in the Oasis room was very small.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KMTULSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

By the time I booked my trip to Colorado Springs for Parents' Weekend at Colorado College, the "usual suspects" were all booked up. I recalled that nearby Manitou Springs seemed to have a likely-looking selection of B&Bs to offer, and I lucked out with the Avenue. Innkeeper Kevin Abney has done a wonderful job of creating a charming and comfortable place to stay for one night, or several. His breakfasts are varied and delicious (I am sorry that I missed his famous stuffed French Toast!). Although I had booked the room as a single guest, one night my daughter asked if she could stay with me for a little break from campus. Kevin had no problem with it and graciously offered to add her to the breakfast table the next morning as well, at no charge. I can't wait to go back and try out all the other rooms!

  • Liked — Great decor, delicious breakfast, helpful but laid-back innkeeper
  • Disliked — lighting over mirrors in room and bath was too dim for applying makeup or doing hair. Only complaint.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ndHalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2007

The location is on Manitou Avenue which is the main street in Manitou Springs. It is convenient to walk around the shops and restaurants, and Colorado Springs is a short drive if you need to get into town. The B&B is very nice and historical. Kevin, the owner, is very hospitable, friendly and knowledgeable. The breakfast was delicious, and there is Internet access to help you get connected to what is going on in your hometown. I would definitely recommend!

  • Liked — The location is close to everything in Manitou Springs
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank renrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
819 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,888 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,089 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 711 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience, the Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast a Manitou Springs bed and breakfast inn, the venue voted the best bed and breakfast in the Colorado Springs metro area the past 3 years. The 1886 Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, a stately Queen Ann, is beautifully restored with the guests comfort in mind. We offer a comfortable retreat and warm friendly atmosphere with complimentary beverages, wine or beer in the afternoon, homemade cookies and a scrumptious breakfast. Let us pamper you! Hosts Gwenn and Randy provide thoughtful amenities; locally made bath products, free movies, free WIFI. Explore the picturesque area then soak in the hot tub on the patio. Massage therapy can be scheduled in advance. With an ideal location in the downtown historic district all shops, galleries and restaurants are just a walk out the front door.The Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast is a great starting point for your Colorado adventure. Enjoy the many area attractions in Manitou Springs, such as Pikes Peak and the Cog Railroad, Garden of the Gods, Manitou Cliff Dwellings, and Cave of the Winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing