We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well thought out B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well thought out B&B”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We enjoyed a comfortable large room which was well equipped.

Welcoming atmosphere, enhanced by freshly baked cookies daily

Creative, delicious breakfast Fresh fruit, freshly baked excellent--not too sweet-- muffins
Eggs and granola, yogurt, fruit available for a less elaborate breakfast if a guest prefers.
Massage available in house.
Easy location. Parking available.
Quiet, clean.
Numerous DVDs for guest use.
Host--Gwen-- is helpful.
We fully enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40Sug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    37
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
221
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We only had one night but enjoyed our stay immensely. Gwen and Randy have though of everything to make a wonderful experience for their guests! They are very easy-going, friendly, and attentive but allow you your space. Ditto for their pets as well! Their Victorian home is charming and beautiful without being "over-decorated" as some period B&Bs can be. We enjoyed a sunny second-floor room (Midland) that was spacious and bright and amazingly quiet for being in the heart of town. Breakfast was a lovely experience on their beautiful patio, and it was nice to have coffee available so early in the morning. We escaped just a few hours before the awful flooding and really hope they didn't sustain any damage. We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms in back would be quieter for a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp2dive4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I travel yearly on his Harley with other friends on Harley's. We always stay in Bed and Breakfast's. Avenue Bed and Breakfast has a great location for touring or just relaxing. Gwen was accommodating and very organized. She did have two ladies who assisting her when serving breakfast. They were never really introduced to us and I should have taken more initiative and talked more with them. Gwen seemed a little stressed because the B&B was full. The breakfasts served were good and the portions were just right. Coffee, tea, and other beverages were always available. The only negative I might offer is that on the last day's breakfast soft boiled eggs were served and most of our group did not care for them. Perhaps we should talk about our likes and dislikes on next year's trip.

Room Tip: Look at all the room descriptions before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trojan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Avenue B & B. We had an even nicer room this time, and the weather allowed us all to share breakfast on the porch -- another feast! We love this place: pretty, well-located, helpful staff, great food, and a hot tub and patios to enjoy.

Room Tip: I hate to share this, but we really liked the Ruxton Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We enjoyed a room on the third floor. Amazingly quiet for being right on the main street. Loved that we had a key to come and go at our leisure. The room was large and comfortable. Lots of nice amenities. Breakfasts on the veranda were amazing. Other guests were interesting and fun to interact with. Enjoyed the hot tub one night and the DVD movie selection. Easy access to local restaurants and entertainment. Owners gave good recommendations of good places to eat. Appreciated their input. Cookies in the evening were a special touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We wanted to stay somewhere close so we could walk everywhere. This was perfect for that. Breakfast was great. We stayed in the Carriage House. Not the main house. Was very nice and spacious. Will stay at Avenue next time we are in town for sure. Rick and Mary Leesburg, Florida

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived at check in time from a very long drive. Gwen opened door for us and I felt we knew her for years. She showed us to our room which was so comfy looking, but it wasn't the room we booked. When I reminded her that we booked another and our reason she remembered, but apologized because someone was already in it. She showed us the other rooms that were not bring used and we selected the Ruxton Room. It was quite large, king bed, many windows on all sides, a/c unit, comfy chairs, large bathroom, and right by back door so easy to carry luggage. Gwen answered all our questions about area. Sent us to eat at a great restaurant, The Keg, and served wonderful homemade breakfasts. We r pet people, so Zooey, Rena and cats were no problem. I have already recommended this place to friends! If you plan on visiting Manitou Springs, this is where you should stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdiuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
828 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,908 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
215 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,290 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 711 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience, the Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast a Manitou Springs bed and breakfast inn, the venue voted the best bed and breakfast in the Colorado Springs metro area the past 3 years. The 1886 Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, a stately Queen Ann, is beautifully restored with the guests comfort in mind. We offer a comfortable retreat and warm friendly atmosphere with complimentary beverages, wine or beer in the afternoon, homemade cookies and a scrumptious breakfast. Let us pamper you! Hosts Gwenn and Randy provide thoughtful amenities; locally made bath products, free movies, free WIFI. Explore the picturesque area then soak in the hot tub on the patio. Massage therapy can be scheduled in advance. With an ideal location in the downtown historic district all shops, galleries and restaurants are just a walk out the front door.The Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast is a great starting point for your Colorado adventure. Enjoy the many area attractions in Manitou Springs, such as Pikes Peak and the Cog Railroad, Garden of the Gods, Manitou Cliff Dwellings, and Cave of the Winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing