We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Faultless”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed there last Spring.The atmosphere is nice and the location is pretty good but we were traveling with our little one and were not made to feel very welcome, i.e. babies are frowned upon. We were told not to bring the child into the main house and were not allowed to take our breakfast in the main house so as not to infringe upon the other guests' peace. Also, there were dogs in the kitchen where food was being prepared and this is a massive turnoff.

Finally, there is no real parking, just on the back street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwenn1, Owner at Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Yes, we are not faultless, as we work hard in hopes that every guest has a wonderful experience at the Avenue Hotel B&B, sometimes it just is not the right fit. As stated on our website, we are an adult retreat style lodging and with accommodations for families with children under 12 in the lower Carriage House. Our past experience is that families with small children love to be catered to and have breakfast brought to them in the Carriage House so the kids can be carefree; in the main house it is much more difficult with the antique furniture, Depression glass and china.
Our historic 126 years old home did not come with a parking lot as we explain on the website we have street parking only. Our small mountain community has very few parking lots. We are able to use the school parking lot in the summer and have plenty of street parking.
Our wonderful little dogs, a Scottie and a Westie, do spend time with me in the kitchen as I check guests in at my desk. During the preparation of breakfast, they are not in the kitchen, nor are they in the dining room when guests are having breakfast. They are allowed in to greet guests only after breakfast is finished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    37
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
216
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Kudos to Gwen, Randy, Jenny for their wonderful B&B! Everything at Avenue Hotel made for a most enjoyable stay on our honeymoon: the friendliness of everyone on the staff, to the delicious homemade breakfast, fresh coffee, beautiful and clean rooms, and the lovely landscaping. And when we had an unexpected change of plans midway through our stay, Gwen & Company went out of their way to help us switch to a larger room so that we could complete our stay with them! We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Manitou Springs!

Room Tip: Carriage house was wonderful for family or if wanting to prepare ones meals. Osage was cozy and per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

For Christmas, our children got us a gift card to the Avenue Hotel B&B.They have been telling us for a couple of years what a wonderful place the Avenue is, and they were right!!! The grounds are so beautiful. We enjoyed a couples massage, and the delicious breakfast, good conversation with new people. What a great way to spend our 33rd Anniversary!
Thank you Gwen and Randy for making is so special!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is the 5th consecutive year that my wife and I have rented the top floor of the Avenue Hotel's vacation carriage house, and each year we have been delighted with the positive upgrades. This time it was a complete kitchen overhaul that is beautiful and functional. We have two weeks left of our usual 5 week stay, and as always, we are having a fantastic vacation here in the Pikes Peak area. The owners, Gwenn and Randy, make sure that our needs are always seen to including an arrangement one evening for us to use their living room for a graduation celebration.
As I write this, there are some very serious wild fires raging in Black Forest and Royal Gorge, but for what it's worth, there is little to no affect here in Manitou Springs or the many surrounding natural wonders.
We look forward to enjoying the next 2 weeks, and are ready to book next year's adventure here already.

Room Tip: There is no "fitness center" per say, but the many, many hiking trails surrounding this pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The food is gourmet quality. I can't imagine any five star restaurant offering better than Gwen prepared. It was beautifully served and tasted even better. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. There was nothing that was lacking in this B&B. The home is not only beautiful, but interesting as well. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Oops, no swimming pool, however there is a well maintained hot tub. The Osage room is large and acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent one night there with a group of friends. The room was very nicely furnished with a very comfortable mattress & pillows, The breakfast was excellent. One word of warning ...the Manitou room is on the main street and the sun comes up pretty early to brighten the room. There were earplugs on the nightstand so I should have figured that out !!! The innkeepers were very friendly and gave great service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very nice and friendly B&B close to shops, parks, food & Pikes peak railway. Rooms comfortable all with private bathrooms. Showers are a bit cramped in vintage tubs but functional.
The breakfasts were outstanding and served in dining room or on nice porch.
Would recommend highly for those who like small Colorado towns. Close to Old Colorado City & Colorado Springs.

Room Tip: 2nd floor easier to get too from back door which is best entry. House is on hillside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
817 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,886 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,087 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 711 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience, the Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast a Manitou Springs bed and breakfast inn, the venue voted the best bed and breakfast in the Colorado Springs metro area the past 3 years. The 1886 Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, a stately Queen Ann, is beautifully restored with the guests comfort in mind. We offer a comfortable retreat and warm friendly atmosphere with complimentary beverages, wine or beer in the afternoon, homemade cookies and a scrumptious breakfast. Let us pamper you! Hosts Gwenn and Randy provide thoughtful amenities; locally made bath products, free movies, free WIFI. Explore the picturesque area then soak in the hot tub on the patio. Massage therapy can be scheduled in advance. With an ideal location in the downtown historic district all shops, galleries and restaurants are just a walk out the front door.The Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast is a great starting point for your Colorado adventure. Enjoy the many area attractions in Manitou Springs, such as Pikes Peak and the Cog Railroad, Garden of the Gods, Manitou Cliff Dwellings, and Cave of the Winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing