We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Place in Manitou”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Gem of a Place in Manitou”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We needed a break from a very hectic summer and wanted to support the local economy after the fires in the area so chose to stay here. What a fun place. It's an former historic rooming house so even though it's a "bed & breakfast" there is an element of it being like a small hotel as well. Thus, the name Avenue HOTEL B&B.

The hosts were out of town the weekend we came but the people who were in charge were just as knowledgeable and hospitable. In fact, if I hadn't known, I would've thought the people serving us were the owners.

We stayed on the 3rd floor, in the back corner and it was very nice and quiet. Just what our souls and bodies needed. We used the hot tub one night and that morning we had seen someone cleaning it so we knew it was nice and ready for us (it wasn't yucky looking or anything, I was just pointing out that they take cleaning things, including the hot tub seriously).

They have to get kudos for being eco-friendly. Their soap and lotion are in dispensers labeled that they are from a local company called Salus. So, it's also eco-friendly in that there was no transportation involved to get it to the hotel in that it's across the street.

The breakfasts were delectable and one of us being gluten-free, they even made a special muffin every morning for me.

I would highly recommend this place. We have a favorite B&B when we go to Estes Park and now we have one when we decide to take a shorter trip and go to Manitou Springs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are going to eliminate the sound of anyone being above you. Being in the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singingdove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    36
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
213
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night at the Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast in August and were really pleased with our choice. The room was comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was delicious and there is excellent outdoor seating both in the back of the property and on the main street (though you are removed from the direct traffic). The hosts were very pleasant and concerned for our comfort. The location was excellent for Pikes Peak, Garden of the Gods and walking around downtown Manitou Springs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckville, Tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My two daughters and I were on a road trip to Yellowstone and this B and B was one of the high lights of our trip. I hope we can go there again someday. the breakfast was lovely and we loved the garden in the back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the front rooms. There were three of us so it was nice to have two rooms. The view was lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbristowBeckville_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night on August 11th and we couldn't of been happier with our choice. Our hosts were very accommodating regarding all the questions I had about hiking trails. The breakfast on Sunday morning was a treat. It was served on the front porch and after fresh fruit and a muffin, I thought we were done, but out came the most delicious French toast souffle with drunken strawberries and bacon. The bed was very comfortable, there were plenty of snacks in the room, and the wine and cookies in the afternoon were welcomed. Overall we were very pleased with our stay here and met some very interesting people as well. I wouId also recommend hiking the incline as a good way to burn off those breakfast calories!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willy0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOKE ON TRENT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights in August 2012 and wished we had booked in for longer. Our rooms were in the upper carriage house, a self contained unit with a kitchen, living room and separate bedroom and bathroom. It was clean and delightfully atmospheric, with an old world charm in keeping with the whole hotel. The hosts, Gwen and Randy were charming and gracious, but the best experience was the superb breakfast, cooked by Gwen to the highest standard and served on the balcony or garden terrace amid colorful Rockie Mountain flowers and foliage. The provision of wine and home made cookies served in the late afternoon successfully encouraged mingling and conversation with fellow guests, many of whom had returned to this B&B for a second or third stay, there can be no more ringing endorsement than this.

Room Tip: The carriage house is a separate unit to the main house, set in a delightful garden and is very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here the night before doing the Barr trail on Pike's Peak. We spent the next night at Barr Camp and I made the mistake of booking the Cliff House for the night after the hike, thinking a fancy hotel would be a treat after 2 days of hiking. We should have stayed again at the Avenue B&B. There's nothing wrong with the Cliff House, but the Avenue was so nice and homey, with a lovely large room in that stunning Victorian mansion, and a fabulous breakfast on the front porch with friendly guests, a great location, friendly staff. If I'm ever again in the area, I know where to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here in one of the family apartments. The owners couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the beautiful garden was delicious, the kids loved the hot tub, our rooms were charming and overall we absolutely loved the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Je142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,867 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,067 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Address: 711 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience, the Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast a Manitou Springs bed and breakfast inn, the venue voted the best bed and breakfast in the Colorado Springs metro area the past 3 years. The 1886 Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, a stately Queen Ann, is beautifully restored with the guests comfort in mind. We offer a comfortable retreat and warm friendly atmosphere with complimentary beverages, wine or beer in the afternoon, homemade cookies and a scrumptious breakfast. Let us pamper you! Hosts Gwenn and Randy provide thoughtful amenities; locally made bath products, free movies, free WIFI. Explore the picturesque area then soak in the hot tub on the patio. Massage therapy can be scheduled in advance. With an ideal location in the downtown historic district all shops, galleries and restaurants are just a walk out the front door.The Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast is a great starting point for your Colorado adventure. Enjoy the many area attractions in Manitou Springs, such as Pikes Peak and the Cog Railroad, Garden of the Gods, Manitou Cliff Dwellings, and Cave of the Winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing