We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Victorian”

Miramont Castle Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Construction of Miramont Castle began in 1895 as a private residence for Fr. Jean Baptiste Francolon and his mother. Miramont has four floors,The Castle has 30 rooms to view covering 14,000 sq. feet. The building features 9 styles of architecture. Enjoy an elegant High Tea in the Queen's Parlour Tea Room.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Victorian”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Many original artifacts from original Construction combined with other displays. Enjoyed the history of the Castle and the many rooms that displayed many period artifacts of clothing, household items, furniture, etc.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 9320Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    129
    53
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rew, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pretty, but got distracted by the scavenger hunt”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The "castle" is beautiful, dug into the hillside. They give you a sheet with the history of the building when you come in. Unfortunately I didn't get to read the beginning part where they talk about the overall history of the building until after we went through because they gave the kids a scavenger hunt to do and we got so distracted by it that I never read the history until days later. But, the scavenger hunt did keep the kids attention in a building they normally would have run through in minutes. It's a lovely building and the interiors have been recreated well. There's one particular stained-glass window that was worth the admission. There is also an interesting historical salute to firefighters and an exhibit of of military paraphernalia through the years (was happy to see a featured photo of the WWII ship my grandfather served on). Oh, and the gardens are really lovely.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Castle Museum”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Your journey begins with the Old Fire department memorialbilia then you get to see all of many Castle rooms of how they looked in the past .To the lovely Chapel to the parlor and even the kitchen .It is a grand look at history from the time period .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aerobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed High Tea and then a Castle Tour”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

My 21 year old daughter and I had a very enjoyable High Tea with a scrumptious four-course meal! Our server was fun and the food was terrific. Was a bit disappointed that while it was high quality tea it was served bagged and not loose leaf.

The self-guided castle tour was intriguing and features a fabulous fire-fighter museum in the bsmt. Would recommend for all ages as they have a special fun menu for younger guest.

If it's the weekend make sure you call for reservations as it's a small room that also serves later lunch and books up quickly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank swillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullin, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The tea room in the castle is wonderful. I went with several close relatives recently and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff, our waiter's name was Daniel, was very contientious. I have a nut allergy and he was very helpful inaccomodating for that. He was so sweet! The tea and the food were both excellent and the ambience of the tea room itself was very beautiful and serene. I cammot recommend this place enough, everyone was so kind and no matter what we were served it all tasted great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miramont Castle Museum also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Miramont Castle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing