We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our visit to Miramont Castle”

Miramont Castle Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Construction of Miramont Castle began in 1895 as a private residence for Fr. Jean Baptiste Francolon and his mother. Miramont has four floors,The Castle has 30 rooms to view covering 14,000 sq. feet. The building features 9 styles of architecture. Enjoy an elegant High Tea in the Queen's Parlour Tea Room.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Our visit to Miramont Castle”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our experience at Miramont Castle was great. Lot of history. We thoroughly enjoyed the Victorian High Tea. Food was excellent. It was fresh. Service as superb.

Visited July 2012
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank bizlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    129
    53
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenbelt, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable self-guided tour of this local treasure; had lunch in Tea Room”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I happened upon this place quite by happenstance; we were excited to see it as we had gotten married in a castle last year. This castle feels more like a very large Victorian home, but it has a colorful history, involving a priest, his mother, an order of nuns, and local preservationists. It is clear that many people have been involved in the restoration, and the collection of items from the past are impressive.
We liked our lunch in the tearoom, Faith was our waitress who served us with a steady smile, although there was quite a delay in getting our dessert - I don't recommend the tea room if you are in a hurry to get to your next destination.
They have a gift shop up in the attic area, lots of Victorian themed items.... and Christmas ornaments.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennaBJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coopersburg pa
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Tour the Castle, Stay For Lunch”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We found the architecture of the castle interesting, yes there are two different periods and styles. Sadly almost nothing inside is from the original owners. The furniture was burned in the fireplace at one point. If you go, stay for lunch in the tea room. You can order off the menu if you do not want the tea.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Come for the tea....”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

...I just read a scathing review of the tea service. I don't know where this person was (or maybe it's improved) but our experience here was much different. (And we've had High tea here three or four times in the past 5 years.) We were each given our own pot of tea, and our selection was immense. (About four menu pages worth.) In fact, we each had two pots, two different flavors for each of us. Our High tea started off with a cup of fresh fruit tossed with toasted coconut, followed by a baked scone,with accompanying clotted cream and a burgundy wine jelly. Next, little tea sandwiches--four different flavors. (Cucumber/cream cheese with dill, a carrot ginger spread, fresh jalapeno with a cheese--can't remember, and a stronger cheese with poppy seed.) Lastly, a dessert tray was served. The service was super friendly, as well.

We have never had less than this....always friendly service and a great High tea. It's why we keep coming back!! Yes, it's $50 for two of us, but it's a little mother-daughter treat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peach13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cramped, Faded, Musty Trip to the Past”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

There's a lot of stuff packed into the sometimes narrow confines of this museum. Dollhouses, a tea shop, and reconstructed rooms from the late 19th century (including a private chapel.) Like several other Colorado Springs attractions, there's a dim, dusty atmosphere throughout that doesn't exactly make the heart sing and dance. I'm not an adrenaline junky, but I'd like the places I visit to say "Hurray! You're on vacation!" and not "Death and decay are your inevitable destiny."

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank PerfectTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miramont Castle Museum also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Miramont Castle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing