We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what you think it is”

Manitou Cliff Dwellings
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At most museums, you hear, "Look with your eyes, not with your hands." Not at the outdoor exhibits at the Manitou Cliff Dwellings Museum, where you can reach out and touch ancient Anasazi buildings. Explore the authentic Anasazi structures, investigate the Pueblo-style buildings and traditional clay oven, and examine the pottery, tools, and weapons used by these ancient and mysterious peoples. Open since 1907, the Manitou Cliff Dwellings have preserved these historic Anasazi artifacts for all to enjoy for generations to come. Get a hands-on look at history that the whole family will enjoy.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not what you think it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was disappointed to learn that the dwellings were actually relocated to Colorado Springs from another place over 100 miles away and it is only a replica of actual cliff dwellings. It was an interesting place to go to but not what I expected.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jakeS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNHefner, General Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit to the Manitou Cliff Dwellings. Our dwellings were relocated here over 100 years ago as part of a three year preservation project in order to preserve and protect some of the ancient Anasazi culture. Our forty room site offers a hands on educational look into the past of these intelligent people. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    436
    319
    101
    59
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Very interesting attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The place is not too big. So don't go there expecting hours and hours of walking and discovering. This said, I usually do activities quite fast and yet it took me a good hour to do the whole thing.

It is fascinating to walk around these incredible and very intelligently designed dwellings and how well preserved they still are!

Definitely worth the visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNHefner, General Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
The Anasazi were indeed fascinating architects! Our hands on educational experience sheds some light on just how intelligent the Anasazi were! Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting and fun attraction small display of cliff dwellings here and gift shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a fun place to visit. It is peaceful and beautiful with spectacular views of mountains and city. The cliff dwellings are interesting and fun to visit and experience, especially for first timers. The large gift shop is great. the new outside jungle gym looks like fun. Ample parking. Always a fun time here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNHefner, General Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
The Manitou Cliff Dwellings truly are a peaceful place. Mornings and evenings are especially serene. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Touring the Cliff Dwellings Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We found this museum very well-laid out, very informative, and interesting. There was nothing we disliked.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNHefner, General Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Be sure to check our Facebook page for upcoming special events! Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The museum and cliff dwellings were interesting, but on a smaller scale than Mesa Verde. My family and I enjoyed exploring the dwellings, but my wallet was quite a bit lighter when we paid the admission. Our family of four cost over forty dollars and it took about an hour to see it all. I think I'll head back to Mesa Verde next time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNHefner, General Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
At under $10 per person, we pride ourselves on offering a hands on educational experience. We also have coupons and military rates available. Thanks for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manitou Cliff Dwellings also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Manitou Cliff Dwellings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing