We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a little too touristy”

Manitou Cliff Dwellings
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At most museums, you hear, "Look with your eyes, not with your hands." Not at the outdoor exhibits at the Manitou Cliff Dwellings Museum, where you can reach out and touch ancient Anasazi buildings. Explore the authentic Anasazi structures, investigate the Pueblo-style buildings and traditional clay oven, and examine the pottery, tools, and weapons used by these ancient and mysterious peoples. Open since 1907, the Manitou Cliff Dwellings have preserved these historic Anasazi artifacts for all to enjoy for generations to come. Get a hands-on look at history that the whole family will enjoy.
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a little too touristy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

the dwellings and hx are good but the shop is over the top touristy , maybe less stuff from China would be good. Luckily we were there at the end of the day so fairly quiet.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy_NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNHefner, General Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
After you explore the ruins, the Pueblo building offers our restrooms, gift shop and various museums. We have made great efforts to offer items that are US and Colorado made, as well as a selection of Native American made pottery, jewelry and artifacts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    436
    320
    101
    59
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peru, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

An interesting place to go see how the ancient Azsani's lived. The museum was interesting. They had some really old artifacts that just amazed me..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNHefner, General Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are glad you found the ruins and museums offering the history and culture of the Anasazi so interesting. The cliff dwellings truly offer a “Walk Through History”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good family place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We visited with 2 - 11 year olds and a 13 year old. They liked climbing through the dwellings. Great the way they made it so you can walk though the back of dwellings and see how they lived. A couple of rock paintings. Small but interesting. Museum building has great old adobe part. Some hands on things for kids.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hossfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNHefner, General Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We take pride in offering a hands on educational experience for patrons of all ages. You have the ability to self-guide through the ruins, grind corn with the mano and metate stones and be absolutely sure to stop at each of our museums, as each offers various dioramas and artifacts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to Garden of the Gods, and all these rocks and cliff dwellings are in a word Breathtaking. A must see.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank luv2travelwithhubby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreeAbel, Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We’re so lucky to have this beautiful scenery right in our backyard! The Pikes Peak region has many amazing sights to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co springs, co
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good for one time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Only if you 300 miles more will you see more cliff dwellings. and 3 days to do mesa verde, a national park, or new mexico off the beaten path, so these real dwellings relocated 100 years ago (1904) , are the next best thing and price is not bad with coupon. But best to go on day dancers are there. adn dry so you dont get red clay all over you

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manitou_Cliff_Dwellings, There are actual artifacts in museum

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nlcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreeAbel, Manager at Manitou Cliff Dwellings, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We’re happy to be able to give people the opportunity to explore Anasazi cliff
dwellings without travelling so far. Unfortunately, the Native American dancers are no
longer performing here. See our website for a coupon; we also offer a military discount
on admission.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manitou Cliff Dwellings also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Manitou Cliff Dwellings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing