We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mountain town worth visiting”

Downtown Manitou Springs
Ranked #2 of 17 Shopping in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain town worth visiting”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My Colorado cousin took us to Manitou Springs, which is outside of Colorado Springs. We had never heard of it before, but were very impressed. It is a beautiful little western town nestled in the mountains with quaint shops and cheerful ambiance. We enjoyed pizza at a little restaurant filled with Marilyn Monroe pictures and items. We loved the town and enjoyed a wonderful afternoon visiting shops and exploring. Manitou Springs was hit with a terrible flash flood the
week after we left, but my cousin told me that tourists should return as it is nearly back to normal
now. Very much worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KClovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    106
    38
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hastings
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing town!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is your classic mountain town. Great food, local shopping, beautiful backdrop and great people. So worth spending the day here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank halver5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Great Place to hang out”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

In good weather this is a fun place to hang out! I visit here every time I go to Colorado Springs. I was see Native American crafts, works from artisans in the area and fun places to eat. The area provides a feeling of design from the 1800s, but with all the modern amenities. Don't rush through this, stay and enjoy yourself for a while.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpeedTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“downtown Manitou Springs”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

great shops, walked and shopped for hours, next time I will plan on spending an entire day there not just the morning

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The town of Manitou Springs, Colorado is a great place for some eclectic shopping and foods. It's like a Hippie version of Gatlinburg in the 70's. The shops are fun and kind of weird. The food is unique and varied and the little town center makes for a nice walk.
It's close by many touristy places like the Pike's Peak Cog and Garden of the Gods. Stop by for an hour or so; or spend the whole afternoon here - There's plenty to do!
Your first stop coming into town needs to be the tourist info place. The lady working the day we visited was super! She was friendly and very informative. There are walking maps, menus from the restaurants and lists of all of the mineral springs you can try (all for free!). If you're not familiar with there parking system, they are very helpful in explaining how it works (it's easy, just a little different than some places).
Stop by and enjoy the day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GCTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Manitou Springs also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Downtown Manitou Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing