We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Valentine's Day special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craftwood Inn

Craftwood Inn
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mayfair
Trinidad, CO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice Valentine's Day special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I wanted to treat my wife to a nice meal for Valentine's Day and the Craftwood Inn delivered.
My wife had the blackened diver scallop, roasted golden beet salad, and the Colorado Striped bass. I ordered the ostrich tataki, Tahitian Vanilla scented lobster bisque, and the red wine braised rabbit. We shared a dessert which consisted of white chocolate mousse, gran marinier truffles, flourless chocolate ganache cake, creme brulee, and nutella powder.
Our server was very attentive to our needs. The level of service is what you would expect from a fine dining establishment.
Highly recommend this place for anyone seeking to have an excellent dining experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    27
    19
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chef's Secret Supper Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I saw this advertised in the newspaper and immediately made a reservation. We have been twice and have not been disappointed. The event is on Wednesday nights and you must have a reservation. The meal is 3 courses and you don't know what is going to be served until you arrive(so this is not for picky eaters), unless you are on Facebook and then you get hints of what might be served. I don't know how much longer the chef plans to do this but we have decided that it will be our Wednesday date night destination. We have asked EJ (server, sommelier, not sure what his title is) to pair small glasses of wine with each course and he has not let us down. The food has been wonderful both visits and we can't wait to see what's next.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SEM92060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“LOOKING FOR AN EVENT VENUE - THIS IS IT!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We held a company party at the Craftwood Inn last night. I have to say that the even manager, Bobbie Laluna, and the entire staff that supported our event were superb - professionals all! The appetizers we had during our cocktail hour were wonderful - raves were heard from all on the ostrich, shrimp, smoked salmon, sausages, meat platter, and goat cheese philo cups. Dinner was orchestrated by the Inn and the food was wonderful. This is not an easy task when you have a buffet dinner! Everything was a smashing hit at the Craftwood Inn. I would highly recommend this quaint, gourmet restaurant to anyone who needs a party or wedding venue. Cost was reasonable as well. Definitely will be back and recommend this place to many!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWieners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Downhill fast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

What the heck happened????? My wife and I had been HUGE fans of Craftwood since we moved out here in July. Several visits including Thanksgiving day (which was great) Anyway went back 12-19 for Birthday celebration (birthday 12-20) was immediately told I could not use the birthday coupon since my birthday wasn't for another 5 hours! No problem, not going to let that spoil the night. Ordered the Foie Gras app which was small but good then came the entrees. I had the wild boar 2 ways the boar shank was WAY overcooked hard on the outside and dry as a bone inside, It had baked apples on the side and when I bit a piece a sizable hunk of aluminum foil got intimate with my metal fillings. The wife had sea bass and scallops, the scallops were good but again the sea bass was cooked to the consistency of a old sneaker. When I brought up the aluminum foil the busboy apologized and the waitress came over and said "looks like you get your birthday meal anyway". No manager, no apology. Is this an off night for the Craftwood? Perhaps. Does the waitsaff need training? Absolutely. Will we go back? Maybe but doubtful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ampil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unique Dining and Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Craftwood Inn on the strength of other reviews and we weren't disappointed. Started with the striped beet and shaved fennel salads. Phenomenal. I had the elk, while the wife ordered the striped bass and scallops. The elk was a bit gamey which you would expect, but the flavor was great. The striped bass was terrific, although the portion size was awfully small. About four bites and it was gone. The two scallops that came with it were great. After several drinks and a dessert coffee, the bill came to $154 before coupon. Ambience is wonderful. Love the fireplace. Service was great too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lsk0334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craftwood Inn also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Craftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing