We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for a special meal”
Review of Craftwood Inn

Craftwood Inn
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mayfair
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a special meal”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I chose this spot to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we were thrilled with the choice. Craftwood offers inside or outside dining, so we enjoyed beautiful weather on their patio. The menu features a number of game options. My goat was slow-cooked and super-tender, not a bit strong, with a large portion. My husband's lamb was excellent as well. Service was attentive, and there was a good wine list.

The Craftwood Inn is a short drive outside downtown, and has ample parking. The street is twisty and lacks sidewalks, so I don't recommend walking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sondra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    27
    19
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
133 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“For that special occasion!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

For special events - anniversary, birthday, etc - this is our go to restaurant in Colorado Springs. In the winter, ask for the table in front of the fireplace, in the summer sit outdoors on the patio and enjoy the gorgeous view. I always look forward to the new menu items - this year was mountain goat - and I'm never disappointed. Knowledgeable staff, great variety of wild game, quiet and peaceful setting. You can't go wrong!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tenderloin to die for”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just dined here over Labor Day weekend and the food, setting and service were exceptional. Steve went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect and that we felt comfortable and welcomed. Best filet mignon I've ever had!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank snorkelgirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wild meat very good”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The menu had a lot of wild meat, which was good and different. The only objection was the restaurant, needed updating.



Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 478812345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Unusual Fare”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having eaten dinner at the Craftwood Inn over 20 times, I can clearly state that we have been pleased and impressed every time. They specialize in wild game meat (Elk, Ostrich, Boar, Pheasant, etc) and their menu changes seasonally. They have a great bar and wine selection. The room is beautiful and service is excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mason883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craftwood Inn also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Craftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing