We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of El Colorado Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Colorado Lodge
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed 1 week in a 2Q,shower only cabin. There was 1bed room with a door and the other bed was in the main room like you would find in a regular motel. There was a small fridge and microwave.No coffee pot in the room but did ask at check in and was given one with packets of coffee. Each bedroom had a tv. We did have an internet cable in our room which was great.WiFi only worked when by the office or pool, The room was very clean.The beds were not to bad. Took the hot water in the shower about 3min to get hot but once it got going it was fine. They advertise a heated pool but according to the kids it was not at all warm but that didn't stop them from using it. Liked that this place was close to everything we wanted to do. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    19
    14
    10
See reviews for
63
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DuPont, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived to discover that the room we had reserved was uninhabitable because a previous guest had spilled milk on the carpet. The hosts had already moved us to a two room adobe and did everything they could to make sure we had a good stay. This turned out to be the perfect place for us to sleep while we visited family in Colorado Springs. It was close and convenient.

This isn't a fancy hotel with lots of amenities, but it is clean and comfortable. You have to plug your computer into a port to access internet. There is no breakfast buffet, but the rooms have coffee pots, microwaves and refrigerators. A lot of them have a mini kitchen. Housekeeping visits daily and leaves everything spic and span.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had stayed here years ago. This time, we were traveling with dogs over the Christmas holiday. I wanted a room large enough to hold two large folding dog crates since we would be a week. We got a cabin with two rooms - it was great since I am early riser and husband is not. Dogs and I could use the other room early in the morning - turn TV on. Rooms were wonderfully warm, nice shower, good bed, park right outside your door. Great place to walk the dogs around the large complex.

Wonderful place for families. Picnic table outside most cabins. in nicer weather barbecues scattered around, vollyball court, pool, play equipment and those wonderful Buffalo in the front yard!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 1RoseP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the El colorado Lodge last weekend and had the best time ever. Our cabin was abosolutly charming. We had a cozy fire both evenings there. The cabins are spotless and the service was top notch. The owners are truly the nicest people we have ever met. We have already made a return reservation for December and plan on going back every November when my mother visits from North Dakota. Check it out and have a great experience for yourself. Thank you El Colorado Lode and see you all soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have fire places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was the second time I've stayed at El Colorado Lodge in Manitou Springs. The rates are great ($49-79/room depending on bed size).

This time, I stayed in a king room with a fireplace. It actually had two bedrooms with a bathroom. The rooms are a good size and would be fine for a small family.

This isn't a typical hotel. The rooms are actually little duplex-like buildings. The adobe walls are thick and make for a very quiet stay. The rooms are equipped with a fridge and small microwave, and mine had a desk as well.

Because the walls are so thick, they don't have wifi in the rooms but they do have Ethernet connections for laptops.

In the back, there is a playground, pool and hot tub. (We saw four deer at the playground in the morning!)

It is an older place, so if you're looking for new and fancy, this isn't for you. But, if you are OK with a rustic feel and modest, but comfortable accommodations, it's a good fit. The only thing I didn't care for was the super-powerful (sting-y) water pressure in the shower. Evidently the rooms have different shower heads though b/c my friend said that wasn't an issue in her room.

If I'm back in Manitou Springs, I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImagineYourselfThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We picked the El Colorado Lodge on a whim as we drove through Manitou. It was an excellent choice! Ended up with a 2-room, 3-bed lodge which was more room than we needed. The place had a quaint cabin feel and we slept well with the windows open. In the morning I found two deer roaming the lawn behind our cabin! The location is great, walking distance (if you're amibitious) to Garden of the Gods, or a short drive. It's just a quick drive into the heart of Manitou or, the other way, to Colorado Springs.

The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I left some belongings behing on accident and they were very helpful in finding and returning them to me!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

El Colorado Lodge is a very quaint lodge in the cute little town of Manitou Springs. It is very affordable and in a great location. It isn't very modern, but perfect for a mountain retreat and relaxing time. It's literally 5 minutes from the beautiful Garden of the Gods and many other attractions. Easy to find and very accommodating!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
1.6 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
802 reviews
0.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,070 reviews
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Colorado Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Colorado Lodge

Property: El Colorado Lodge
Address: 23 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2424
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Colorado Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adobe cabins at the foot of Pikes Peak on 4 acres. Distinctive, Rustic Southwestern Flavor. Seasonal Fireplaces & Heated Pool. Hot tub. Meeting Room,Party Pavilion,BBQ grills, some kitchenettes, Playground, Volleyball Court, Picnic Area, A/C, and Some Pet Friendly units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your El Colorado Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Colorado Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing