We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommend for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Colorado Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Colorado Lodge
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Recommend for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Rooms 15-18 were clean with new TV and 2nd bedroom is very friendly for children (2 double beds in BR 2, King in main room) Kept to much better standard than reported in prior reviews. Recommend for family mountain vacation.

Room Tip: rooms 15-18. New TV, clean, not as reported by earlier reviews. 2 bedrooms ideal for family. Recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cliffordok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    18
    13
    10
See reviews for
62
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is the second time our family stayed here. Not fancy but there were comfortable beds and a serviceable kitchen.Pool and hot tub are great. Not a lot of housekeeping-clean towels and coffee but many times the beds weren't made. Not a big deal to us but might be to some. Staff were very accommodating. We will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytimemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wokingham
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

A great place to visit to acclimatise to us time. We liked the local town of Manitou springs. An ethnic feel, with veggie resturants and mystic shops.
Disliked the noise from the freeway just behind the lodges.
Liked the pool, hot tub and staff. Gave us pool towels and basketballs to play out he back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerpower_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodward, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for our family reunion the last weekend of July 2012. It is the perfect place for such an occasion. We reserved cabin #2 for our base and 4 other cabins to sleep in. Cabin #2 is huge and can be set up with beds or tables and chairs. Our family congregated there and had the best time. The kids loved the pool and all of the other outdoor activities. The staff and service were outstanding. The location is near to almost anything you would want to do in the area. I would highly recommend a vacation here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingfisher, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently stayed at this facility and found the accomodations to be very adequate. This is not a place that is full of frills but is well suited for those that just need a place to land for the evening while playing during the day. It was clean. The pool was very nice and heated. The staff was friendly and prrsonable. The staff had occasion to exercise their generosity and character in dealing with a problem that was not of their origin and came away with high marks. I would recommend this facility if you are planning on just using it as a base for your activities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I reserved a two room cabin with kitchenette based off their website description. Was frustrated there were few interior pictures on their website, but had a feeling it would be okay.

Upon checking in, the room was hot and smelled of urine. The carpet was dirty looking and worn. The kitchenette was so outdated that it looked unclean. There were two tiny rooms and one had a TV over the pillows on the bed. My son said he was scared to sleep under a TV. The bedspreads looked to be at least 20 years old and did I mention the urine smell? I opened the worlds smallest closet and the musty old smell almost knocked me over.

I went outside to call around to find another hotel and the three year old Days inn up the street had room for the same price as El Colorado. In the time it took me to call, both my kids had bugs fall on them inside the room. We ended up leaving and going down the road to a new, wonderful hotel, but we felt like we couldn't get the "dirty" feel off of us.

When leaving, the front desk was very kind and apologetic but told me the room was per friendly. That means people let their animals stay there and stink up the place. Make sure you can handle animal smell if you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutAndAbout091974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at El Colorado Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
These Historic cabins were built in 1926. If you prefer modern accommodations, you may want to go to a new chain. Half of our cabins are pet friendly. Keep this in mind when choosing your cabin. New bedspreads are in all of the cabins. We change them out in May. The size of the mentioned cabin is 360 sq ft. The rooms are not tiny. We have larger cabins as well. These cabins are exterminated for bugs. When visitors are not satisfied with a particular cabin, we have other units with different configurations. In this case, the guest did not indicate anything was wrong except she had allergies and needed a full kitchen. I was able to identify the guest since she was the only one this season who chose not to stay. She was very cordial. The problem with not notifying us of a problem, is how are we going take care of it? We know that pets occasionally have odors, but we love them and so do our guests. We have the largest outdoor heated pool in Manitou, children's playground, volleyball court, horseshoes, schufflleboard, basketball hoop and occupy nearly four acres of land with a picturesque view of Pikes Peak. The prices reflect the amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manitou Springs hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The beds suck and the AC doesnt keep the room cool. The website makes it sound good but there is much better places to stay for the same money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plumbersbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
1.6 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Colorado Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Colorado Lodge

Property: El Colorado Lodge
Address: 23 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2424
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Colorado Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adobe cabins at the foot of Pikes Peak on 4 acres. Distinctive, Rustic Southwestern Flavor. Seasonal Fireplaces & Heated Pool. Hot tub. Meeting Room,Party Pavilion,BBQ grills, some kitchenettes, Playground, Volleyball Court, Picnic Area, A/C, and Some Pet Friendly units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your El Colorado Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Colorado Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing