We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dinner on a month-long vacation”

Cliff House Hotel Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Cliff House Hotel Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cliff House Dining Room has gained national renown as one of Colorado’s premier dining destinations. We are proud recipients of the distinguished DiRoNa Award and the 4 Diamond Award in Fine Dining from AAA.
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best dinner on a month-long vacation”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were staying at the Cliff House, so we made reservations for dinner in the dining room our last night. We were not disappointed. We were on the last few days of a month-long vacation which included many nice restaurants. This one was the best of many memorable dinners. The host, the manager and our server all referred to us by name and the service was excellent.

Now to the dinner - we had their filet with bleu cheese, horseradish and honey mashed potatoes, asparagus and carrot. My husband also had the shrimp cocktail, which was presented wonderfully. Both mine and my husband's filets were prepared exactly as ordered and I feel I could have probably cut mine with a fork if I had wanted to. The flavor was exceptional.

I much prefer local restaurants to chains when traveling and I really feel that the prices charged here were very comparable to the high end chains and in many cases were less. I felt we got a great deal for the quality of the food presented.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skm8661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    57
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We just were not feeling it”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Maybe we have high standards. In the Dallas/Fort Worth area, a $150 dinner at maybe Del Frisco's, Ruth's Chris or the like would be really impressive, totally delicious. For the same price we just were not feeling it. The presentation of the food was really good, but the taste was just mediocre. We found the service a little presumptuous, not really friendly and not really fun. I also got the vibe they were trying to finish up and go home at 8:30. The atmosphere was quiet, and low energy but beautiful. I believe its probably the nicest place to eat in Manitou Springs, but for us, it just didnt measure up to what we are used to. To sum it up, it was okay one time, but I doubt if we visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CKOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place to celebrate a special occasion”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

After we slogged through dozens of souvenir shops in Manitou Springs, the Dining Room at the Cliff House Hotel provided an elegant change of scenery. Late in the afternoon, we stopped by to make a dinner reservation, then spent an hour enjoying the mountain view from the hotel veranda. In the dining room, we found the food, the service, and the ambience to be outstanding. Our two waiters were helpful and attentive, and served us in a gracious Victorian setting featuring cool colors and stained glass ornamentation. Food presentations were exquisite, portions were sized right (adequate – but not huge), and our meals were delicious.
On our arrival, the maître d’ had asked if we were celebrating any special occasions. At the end of the meal, the other couple in our party was delighted to be presented with a special anniversary treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
322 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Pleasant Front Porch Lunch”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The front porch was a quiet, shady place to enjoy lunch outdoors. Gracious servers and lack of crowds is another benefit. Chef is obviously enamoured with his food grinder since both the ruben and the chicken waldorf salad had been ground. They were unique, good, and easy to eat because of the grinding. Given the diamonds and accolades from T&L, this is well-priced and an enjoyable way to enjoy the fine dining experiences of the past. With regards to housekeeping, the white wicker table needed a good scrubbing. The glass top was clean, but the wicker edged was black with molded crumbs of gunk. Not what you expect from a 4 diamond property.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and service at The Cliff House Inn!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had lunch on Sunday in the dining room at the Cliff House Inn. It was lovely & relaxing lunch, the location, service and food were all enjoyed. My friend had the Waldorf Chicken Salad and I had the ....Smoked Filet Ruben....so good!!!
(House Smoked Filet of Beef with Sauerkraut, Swiss Cheese on Toasted Rye, Roasted Red Bell Pepper Remoulade)
The menu on Sunday also includes brunch items and our neighbors at the next table got the Wild Mushroom Florentine. They told us it was also delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GTWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff House Hotel Dining Room also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Cliff House Hotel Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing