We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We just were not feeling it”

Cliff House Hotel Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Cliff House Hotel Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cliff House Dining Room has gained national renown as one of Colorado’s premier dining destinations. We are proud recipients of the distinguished DiRoNa Award and the 4 Diamond Award in Fine Dining from AAA.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We just were not feeling it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Maybe we have high standards. In the Dallas/Fort Worth area, a $150 dinner at maybe Del Frisco's, Ruth's Chris or the like would be really impressive, totally delicious. For the same price we just were not feeling it. The presentation of the food was really good, but the taste was just mediocre. We found the service a little presumptuous, not really friendly and not really fun. I also got the vibe they were trying to finish up and go home at 8:30. The atmosphere was quiet, and low energy but beautiful. I believe its probably the nicest place to eat in Manitou Springs, but for us, it just didnt measure up to what we are used to. To sum it up, it was okay one time, but I doubt if we visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CKOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    55
    27
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place to celebrate a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

After we slogged through dozens of souvenir shops in Manitou Springs, the Dining Room at the Cliff House Hotel provided an elegant change of scenery. Late in the afternoon, we stopped by to make a dinner reservation, then spent an hour enjoying the mountain view from the hotel veranda. In the dining room, we found the food, the service, and the ambience to be outstanding. Our two waiters were helpful and attentive, and served us in a gracious Victorian setting featuring cool colors and stained glass ornamentation. Food presentations were exquisite, portions were sized right (adequate – but not huge), and our meals were delicious.
On our arrival, the maître d’ had asked if we were celebrating any special occasions. At the end of the meal, the other couple in our party was delighted to be presented with a special anniversary treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
308 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Pleasant Front Porch Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The front porch was a quiet, shady place to enjoy lunch outdoors. Gracious servers and lack of crowds is another benefit. Chef is obviously enamoured with his food grinder since both the ruben and the chicken waldorf salad had been ground. They were unique, good, and easy to eat because of the grinding. Given the diamonds and accolades from T&L, this is well-priced and an enjoyable way to enjoy the fine dining experiences of the past. With regards to housekeeping, the white wicker table needed a good scrubbing. The glass top was clean, but the wicker edged was black with molded crumbs of gunk. Not what you expect from a 4 diamond property.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and service at The Cliff House Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had lunch on Sunday in the dining room at the Cliff House Inn. It was lovely & relaxing lunch, the location, service and food were all enjoyed. My friend had the Waldorf Chicken Salad and I had the ....Smoked Filet Ruben....so good!!!
(House Smoked Filet of Beef with Sauerkraut, Swiss Cheese on Toasted Rye, Roasted Red Bell Pepper Remoulade)
The menu on Sunday also includes brunch items and our neighbors at the next table got the Wild Mushroom Florentine. They told us it was also delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GTWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Valentine's dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food had good taste and presentation. However, the custard desert was bad due to the server not able to burn all the alcohol and therefore it was bitter and uneatable.

The room ambient was co cold that everyone in that room had to put on their jackets. Management did try to remedy with a portable heater but did not help.

To us, it does not matter how good the taste was, if the room was not comfortable, it negates everything.

The service was mediocre at best. It could be the color of our skin, since we are the only non-white couple in the room. We got less attention than other tables in the room.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vince N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff House Hotel Dining Room also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Cliff House Hotel Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing