We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring Break 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cave of the Winds

Cave of the Winds
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discovered in 1881, Cave of the Winds has been a premier Colorado attraction for more than a century. Explore amazing caverns, experience total cave darkness, and marvel at the beauty of formations hundreds of thousands of years old. Then step outside and walk on the wind on the Wind Walker Challenge Course, fly like a bat on the Bat-a-Pult Zip Line, and dive into Williams Canyon on the one of a kind aerial dive ride, the TERROR-Dactyl. Lots of family fun, amazing views and memories to last a lifetime!
Dalhart, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spring Break 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Took our 5 year old daughters here as well and I think this was one of their favorites. The tour was just perfect, not too long to lose their attention. They loved learing about the cave, etc.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RWJ_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    452
    214
    83
    45
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

If you have been to other caverns, you may find this one a little disappointing. Not that much noteworthy to see although the walk through the caves is a nice long one and could be interesting if it's your first visit to a cavern. Downer was that it was so crowded we stood still in one spot for 10 minutes in close quarters, far from the guide so we could not hear him and with nothing to see as we waited for other groups ahead of us to move on. Happened twice so our group started making up stories about the cave to entertain ourselves. It got so crowded that one guide was backtracking because she could not find 4 members of her group who had joined another one rather than wait longer. Could not recommend this for the price unless you go at a less busy time and it's your first time seeing a cavern. The zip line and activities outside the cavern entrance, along with the amazing views were worth the trip up the hill so giving 2 stars.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceI_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“A must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

C.O.W is a great attraction for anyone to see! Offers fun for all ages including, the great lantern tour (which can get a bit spooky!), the zipline, the ropes course, and of course the ever popular discovery tour. I recommend if you visit C. Springs you must go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mariah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Colorado Bucket List Attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Visited Colorado Springs for the first time last weekend and had to stop by the Cave of the Winds to scratch it off my Colorado bucket list. Although a little pricey for a short tour with no goodies handed out (luckily they do offer military discounts though), but very interesting a unique. We had a great tour guide, I forget his name but he was an older gentlemen with a great sense of humor and was able to keep the younger guests in the crowd interested and focused. For taller guys like myself I sincerely recommend watching your head, caught a rock more than once going through there. Tour lasts about 45 minutes and takes you through the history and science of the cave. Definitely a must see for anyone living in or passing through Colorado. Not a bad place to sit and enjoy the gorgeous red mountains either.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mcadchri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and historic cave tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our tour guide, Aaron was great. Very informative and funny. We loved exploring the cave. Only negative, would be maybe to have a little more time to look around. There were lots of tours that day and it seemed to be a little rushed to keep moving.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MidwesternBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave of the Winds also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Cave of the Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing