We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - will visit again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We were impressed by the large rooms and incredible service. We happened to catch a great deal too during a sale. Really enjoyed our weekend!! Great easy walk-to location!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 869 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2010

I got married at the Cliff House in June of 2009. It was a very small wedding (20 guests) and we wanted to keep is nice, but simple. The staff at the Cliff House are the best! Everyone was so friendly and helpful; they really went out of their way to make our day enjoyable and stress free. All of our guests also remarked on how wonderfully they were treated. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet. The included breakfast was outstanding and more than we expected for a free breakfast. We had a formal sit-down dinner following our wedding and the food was great. Even if you don't stay at the hotel - the restaurant is a must. Our room was upgraded to a suite for no extra charge on our wedding night and they even transferred all of our luggage for us. I highly recommend the Cliff House to others.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Sati76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

My husband surprised me with a romantic get-a-way and knew I had been eyeing the Cliff House since moving to the region last year. Nestled into the magical and quirky community of Manitou Springs, the Cliff House is set just off the main street. We were met by a fabulous team of young men who joyfully to our vehicle and welcomed us as if we were about to experience the time of our life. The reception staff was consistently welcoming and while the hotel was filled to capacity, we never felt rushed.

Though my husband got the "what's left" room (a studio) it was wonderful! Reminded us of our rooms at the NY Empire hotel -- small but with every amenity from heated toilet seat (really!) comfy mattress, Aveda hair products, real cream for my morning coffee in the mini fridge, free wifi, LOTS of soft towels and a room full of gorgeous antiques.

Turn-down service was top notch, ice bucket filled, towels placed on both sides of the bed, dark chocolates on the bed...etc.

Dinner was excellent. Our first bottle of wine came and the cork was bad -- it was replaced immediately. Our only disappointment was to be seated in the music room for dinner since our reservation was made late (a week out!) but we did have a live pianist who played Debussy and standards.

Breakfast was in bed -- eggs florentine to die for (one will do for two unless you are big breakfast eaters) -- coffee was offered to arrive early if breakfast delayed more than 15 minutes. It wasn't delayed and everything was piping hot!

If you think I am being overly generous, it's just that it is rare to get this kind of service. Kudos to management and staff . GO! Be frivolous.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Well_traveled100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We planned a romantic getaway. We eaten at the Cliff house in the past, and chose to stay fora a weekend getaway. It has a lovely style, and historic charm. Upon check-in I was surprised at the number of additional fees, but accepted them and headed to the room. Upon entering my wife and I noted a musty smell... as if the room had not been used in months. The jetted tub although spacious would have required a step stool to climb into. We asked to see another room, and were given a room on the 1st floor at the far end of the hotel. This was lovely room, with a steam shower. My only complaint is that heating fan system was very noisy - all night. It was as if furnace fan motor was in our room and no way to shut it off. - Breakfast was very good....

Overall... classy historic hotel, in nice location. Rooms are a bit dated with amenities and the rooms need service (tables need refinishing, carpets tattered and air handling needs service). Service fees seem pettish. Parking is $7, and there are no other options.

Although we may eat at the Cliffhouse... we will likely not stay as the Radisson is 2/3rds the price and of higher value.
A required tip of approximately 15% on the price of the room for the staff? Why doesn't the hotel just pay the staff a fair wage? And while parking fees sound optional, they are not. There is plenty of free parking all around the hotel, but you cannot park your car in a free space overnight, so you must pay for hotel parking. It's only an extra $7 a night, but who likes being nickle and dimed? The room was nice ("fireplace" was a small gas insert), but it was just a room, despite them calling it a junior suite--it was a room with a big bathtub.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We had our wedding here and return for anniversaries. The hotel is unique, historic and beautiful. The hotel staff is attentive, friendly, helpful and courteous. Do yourself a favor and have dinner in the hotel restaurant, it is true fine dining. The breakfast buffet is delicious. Enjoy a beverage on the front patio and absorb the views and people.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

i found the website lacking in detail information. we chose this hotel because it had a great offer of a percent reduction based on the number of years we were married as long as you arrived within 30 days of your anniversary. for us this meant a 41% discount! it surpassed our expectations. a beautiful hotel, great rooms and very well located. the only disappointment was the breakfast. it was included in the room rate which was good, but the choices were mediocre. we found out by accident that you could ask for something, but they were not really forthcoming. usually a breakfast would include one made to order item or many choices, but this was just a basic simple breakfast. if it wasn't included, we would have walked into town (only a short block away) and eaten in a local restaurant. but, it is a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank documentdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

What a lovely, historic old hotel! We loved our cozy little room with the fireplace (although it didn't work the first night). It was a great, romantic spot. We ordered room service, and had breakfast with them every morning. Both were delicious. If you're going to splurge, this place is worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaritaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,139 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,952 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
230 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#21 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,361 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Price Range: $113 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing