We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“continued excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

we made our twice a year pilgrimage to manitou for our stay at this wonderful hotel. let me start by saying we were booked last weekend, but because of the weather we were allowed to rebook for this past weekend, without penalty. who does that? these professionals at the cliff house. the hotel, while undergoing some renovation, was still immaculate, quiet (even though our suite was across from the entrance to the bar and grill). the suite, complete with fireplace, was perfect in every way. when we came back from dinner at the excellent in house restaurant, the bed was turned down, chocolates on the pillows and a mat by the bed on each side so that when you got up, you did so onto this mat. and a word about dinner. our server, ron i believe was his name, the best. and the other two folks working the restaurant, a young lady and a young man, an example of how service should be. the is nothing i could suggest to make our stay any better (my girlfriend said heated bathroom floors)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denverchucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 869 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Be aware of the added gratuity and parking fee. I have to say my room was not quite as I was expecting. Huge stains on the carpet, a hole on the top very worn blanket, an old cough drop under my ice bucket tray, holes and stains on the chairs, and the very worst, a fringed worn toss pillow on my bed, touching the sheets I'm putting my head on. Do you have any idea where that unwashed old pillow has been? Disappointed the bar was not open.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
4  Thank Monkeymind44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We took advantage of an off season deal for a weekend getaway from Denver. The hotel was beautifully rebuilt years ago after a devastating fire and looks wonderful. Staff were all great and very accommodating. Wasn't expecting the fact that they have no parking except valet which is an additional $7 a day. No biggie, just a surprise. The room was beautiful, comfortably appointed but we too had a gas fireplace that only worked sometimes. Free breakfast was quite nice but in reality it wasn't free. They add $18 a day onto your room for a "service" charge which they say is for breakfast and stuff. Little things add up. Location is nice, right off the main drag, walking distance to a number of bars, restaurants and coffee shops as well as the shops of "downtown" Manitou Spring.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jjtmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed there twice. The first time was great, very nice room, service was exceptional, food good, Valet parking, overall a really nice experience. Second time we stayed there the fireplace in the room didn't work and we had less than great service. They said there was a wedding going on and evidently when that's happening its more of a fend for yourself atmosphere. We had to find parking on the street ourselves and schlep our own luggage to the room. Not a big deal just a contrast to how well we were treated the first time. The food was still good, room was nice, the service was just not there the second time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JThobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Buffalo Bill suite for one night to celebrate our anniversary. The room is small, but it is fabulous with great attention to detail on the furnishings and spotlessly clean. What it lacked in square feet it made up for in volume. We felt it was worth paying the extra for a room with character a fireplace and a spa bath. We loved it! Our only criticism of the room was that the TV was not set back and hidden. Customer service from the time we arrived was impeccable. We were always met with a smile and all members of staff were helpful and cheerful. We ate in the hotel restaurant, which is very expensive. However,the food was excellent and the hotel has the most extensive wine list I have ever seen. The maître d'hôtel was quickly on hand to offer wine suggestions and the wine he selected was excellent. While we were at dinner, room service made our bed and turned down the corners, leaving chocolates in the center. The morning buffet was great with a very attentive server, but not in the way. Overall, we had a very relaxing time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this lovely hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a romantic venue with some fun and character, then the celebrity suites are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 291England2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I hadn't gone away together without the kids in years. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! It was comfortable, relaxing, and very quiet. The valet service was excellent along with the complimentary breakfast the next morning. It was also very nice to be in the middle of town and just a short walk away from shops and restaurants. We will definitely do this again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisvog6165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in a lovely room with an electric fireplace in the sitting area. Very large bathroom and all was very clean. They had a special at the time with a discount on food in the restaurant and it was all very yummy. Very friendly staff that was attentive but not in your way. The only down side to this place is the cost. A friend made the reservation for us and instead of getting a "deal" on the room as shown on their website, we paid full price...... only bummer to the stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,139 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,952 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
230 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#21 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,361 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Price Range: $113 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing