We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, loud AC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb, loud AC”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, truly in a class of its own in Manitou Springs. We spent two nights here, which is about the max you can spend in town without being ready to move on. The hotel has historic charm without feeling old or dusty. I described the decor of our room as "clean, tasteful Grandma". Lovely front porch you can dine on, and great bathrooms with big jacuzzi tubs.

The one bummer is that the air conditioner was VERY loud when it clicked on occasionally to keep the temperature down at night. Like a loud KA-CHUNK that actually woke us up. Besides that everything was perfect. If you're a light sleeper, I could just keep the windows open instead.

The restaurant was great. A little spendy, but nice if you want to have a special dinner. The valet is super cheap, only $7 per night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokinokapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    178
    49
    22
    18
See reviews for
106
553
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Cliff House exceeded my expectations. I had made a reservation 3 days prior for the last weekend in August. I asked for a room with a view and they honored my request. When we checked in, they even upgraded us to a suite! The bathtub in our suite was humongous. My boyfriend only takes baths so this was quite a special surprise. The full breakfast was fabulous and prepared us well for our long hikes later in the morning. Full breakfasts are common in Europe, but rare in the U.S. and I appreciate the Euro-style of service here. Service was exceptional -- the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect -- once you arrive and park your car you can walk or bike to everything. I will certainly come back again, hopefully same time next year!

Room Tip: Room 301 had a mountain view as well as a view of the Post Office. Very quiet as it was end of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel. We stayed in a suite - the room was very spacious. The turndown service was a delightful surprise. The staff is attentive and the valet parking is handy. This hotel is walking distance to the shops on Manitou springs and a quick drive to other attractions like the Cog Railway, Garden of the Gods, and the Seven Falls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaynadea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent two comfortable nights at the Cliff House that included flash flood warnings one evening.
The food was exceptional both nights and all the staff was warm and friendly. The place certainly lives up to all the award plaques on the walls.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the front side for a view of Manitou. Make reservations for the dining room Breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I loved the Cliff House. The room was charming and well appointed with big windows, nice furniture, and a marble bathroom. The service was outstanding by every employee, top to bottom. We got a great deal on the room, and the food was wonderful. Fabulous breakfast was included. Parking is valet only but there are residential streets close by if you want to avoid the extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curraghaleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill NC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were searching for a last minute place to spend the night while traveling to Aspen. A friend recommended The Cliff House at Pikes Peak and we found an absolutely great last minute deal on their website for a basic room. Valet parking is extra. The room did not have a view at all but was nicely appointed, spacious and had an elegant sitting area and modern bathroom.

This historic hotel is absolutely charming, spotless, neatly groomed and fun for a short stay. We enjoyed drinks on the wide verandah and a marvelous meal in the hotel dining room. Its an old fashioned five diamond hotel without the dress code and that really works for us. The energetic staff work hard to make you stay pleasurable. Give em your business. We were glad we did.

Room Tip: Look on line for their deals. Prices posted are higher than what they bundle up and offer at the las...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngusChapelHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have reviewed this hotel before, and stayed here many, many times. Was here again in July 2013, and had the same over the top great customer service experience, a wonderful room, charming environment, and close to so many attractions, shops, restaurants. I love this place -- my overall favorite hotel anyplace!

Room Tip: upgrade to celebrity suites -- worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARLEYthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,098 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,906 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
548 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
214 reviews
6.0 mi away
Colorado Springs Marriott
Colorado Springs Marriott
#28 of 105 in Colorado Springs
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Property: The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing