We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I love old hotels, the elegance and charm. Of course, the rooms don't have all the conveniences of extra space - it is a historic hotel. Valet service for parking was always fast and courteous. Loved being close to the shops and options for meals. Very lovely staff. Great breakfasts! Had a wait on evening meals, but that is to be expected. Easy enough to walk to another site. You are in the town, so don't expect the views you would get from a high rise.

Room Tip: Book early so you get a room at the price you want. We came in after the fires, so prices dropped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 849 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

A pleasant and romantic surprise. Every detail of history is evident in this place. The staff was friendly and accommodating. A close walk to town and a close drive to so many things such as Pikes Peak, Garden of the Gods, Seven Falls, the cliff dwellings and do much more!

Room Tip: Rooms with fire places in them great, but standard rooms are also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been going to the Cliff House at least once a year for the last ten years to celebrate special events. We have always had a great experience. We almost alway stay in a premier celebrity room, usually the Thomas Edison room as we did this last vist and have always enjoyed the room and the facility in general. The room provides everything you can want from steam bath to jacuzzi, gas fireplace to very nice easy chairs for reading and relaxation. The service is exceptional as they take care of your every need. The dining room is beautiful, reminding me of a hotel I have stayed at in Milan, Italy. It is a great spot for a leisurly buffet breakfast and dinining is always a good experience in both food and wait staff. We have never had a bad experience and will look forward to another visit soon.

Room Tip: Thomas Edison (Top room but must climb the stairs for last flight), Henry Ford or Teddy Roosevelt ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcla54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istvan S, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your repeat patronage. We strive to create such memorable experiences for every customer. Your comments on our dining room are flattering, I will be sure to share them with our Director of Food and Beverage. We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband, Bob and I spent the night last week. We had a lovely suite with fireplace overlooking the front of the Hotel. It was charming and so comfortable . The Hotel Staff was so kind and caring throughout our stay . Our dinner was incredible. Everything was perfectly prepared, thanks to their talented chef, Chef Savage. We wish to thank everyone for making our
visit so memorable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istvan S, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Sharon,

Thank you for your review, your compliments will be shared among our staff. Chef Scott is a true master of his craft and he will be thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed dinner in the dining room.

We are here to create great memories and it is always rewarding to receive confirmation from our customers. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to the Cliff House and we love it. For an Inn on the Historic Register, it is very modern and quiet. Other old hotels we have stayed at do not have the insulation to prevent sound transfer between rooms....this place makes it unnoticeable! The rooms are very large for the price (we prefer King beds). We go here for the peace and quiet and the service is always excellent. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlVol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istvan S, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for your repeat patronage! At the Cliff House we are proud to be part of the Historic Hotels of America registry. While honoring the history of the building we also strive to provide modern amenities to our guests.

We greatly value our returning customers and we are looking forward to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed for one night in Henry Ford Celebrity Suite and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located right in Manutou Springs so you are able to walk to the shops and springs easily. The room itself was clean and contained extra amenities like a towel warmer, 2 person shower with steam option, fireplace and more. Although it doesn't say so on the website there is also a cable tv, tastefully hidden behind what appears to be a painting. Since it's now off season for MS, we were able to get an excellent price through one of their web specials. Staff was courteous and attentive.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaBusymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istvan S, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for your review! It is always rewarding to hear about such great stays as yours and I will definitely share your compliments with our staff as well.

We are looking forward to welcome you back next time you are in the Manitou Springs area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to the Cliff House for New Year's eve eve. A treat it was indeed. We booked the Thomas Edison suite - OMG it was splendid. The room is located at the top of the hotel (only 2 rooms on this floor), it is spacious and bright with high ceilings, a fireplace, a steam shower (wonderful) and a huge spa bathtub. The service was great from the bellman to the cleaning staff. We also ate in the dining room, it was wonderful, great wine selection with Eric, the sommelier, having recommendations that were very helpful. The food choices were fantastic and our meals delicious. Definitely a return in store for us - all this at a reasonable price!

Room Tip: Most of their Celebrity and premier Celebrity have so much character!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIANE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istvan S, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Diane,

How great it is to read about your wonderful experience at the Cliff House! I have already passed on your compliments of Eric to our Director of Food and Beverage.

We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and I was humbled by your review. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,119 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,936 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
226 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range: $127 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing