We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Stay.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great location in Manitou. Loved sitting on the big front porch and relaxing or enjoying a delicious meal. Staff was very helpful and attentive. My husband was not feeling well during our stay and they went above and beyond to help accommodate us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    178
    50
    22
    18
See reviews for
108
554
24
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The very good: Accommodations at the Cliff House are beautiful. We were assigned a charming room on the fourth floor that had a queen bed and large jacuzzi tub/shower. The A/C worked very well, and we experienced no noise issues. We took advantage of the Romantic Package that is advertised on their website and were able to have chocolate-covered strawberries and a bottle of wine delivered to our room each evening, had free parking and breakfast, no service fees, and a 10% room discount.

The not as good: As others have posted, the parking issue causes a little distress. When I turned my keys over to the valet, he assured me that the hotel's insurance would cover any damage that might be incurred to my rental car while the vehicle was in their care. However, immediately after that, I was handed a valet ticket that said they were not responsible for any loss, theft, damage, etc. So which is it? My other complaint was with the bathroom. Though the bathroom was decorated nicely and had a toilet seat warmer (how have I lived my whole life without this wonderful thing?), getting into the tub to take a shower was more than a little difficult. The tub edge was so high off the floor that I had to steady myself and move very slowly to get in and out without hurting myself.

The poor: Our first night at the hotel we decided to eat in the hotel's restaurant. Apparently there was some type of event going on in the lower outdoor section of the restaurant and that group of customers seemed to get ALL of the customer service that night. It was frustrating to have to wait ten minutes just to be able to get someone's attention for a drink refill.

Despite the poor service in the restaurant and the parking and bathtub issues, I still have to give the hotel a very good rating. The location is excellent, the breakfast had lots of variety and seating, and our room was quiet, comfy, and attractive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Such a pretty place to stay! Everything is very clean! The front porch is amazing! The room we had had a steam shower and overlooked downtown Manitou. We ate at the bar/grill there and the food was very good! The coffe at the morning breakfast was delicious as well as the buffet. A neat added touch is the historical items on display.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmac429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Beautiful building and good location. We went here for a business lunch. The restaurant service is very slow and poor. We always had to ask for drink refills. One of our party asked that the dressing be on the side for the salad and it came with the dressing on it. Another one of our party asked to leave the blue cheese crumbles off of her salad. Her salad came with blue cheese crumbles... The bread that the serve is really good, but the service is very poor. They are overpriced for what you get and the poor service that they provide. It also took a very long time to receive our food and there were only six other people in the restaurant when we were there so the kitchen wasn't busy... We won't have another business lunch there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogrkkco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerGuy, General Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We apologize for your service experience here at The Cliff House Dining Room. We generally receive very positive comments about our food and service so we are very disheartened to receive this negative posting on TripAdvisor. In regards to our pricing: The bulk of our lunch entree's range from $9.00 to $11.00 and most people find that we are very moderately priced. Once again, our apologies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our room was large and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. There is a large veranda where you can sit and have a beverage. A mini frig in our room included complimentary bottled water. A nice buffet breakfast is included in the rate. We also had dinner in their dining room, which is a lovely room and the food was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Cliff House is in a great location in Manitou Springs, within walking distance of the stores and restaurants, and just minutes from the Pike's Peak Cog Railway. The hotel has been beautifully restored, and the service is excellent. The energetic young staff members are friendly and helpful, and they went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant experience. Our room was clean, comfortable, and beautifully furnished, and the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate, with fruit, juices, eggs, breakfast meats, and even biscuits and gravy. We had dinner on the verandah on our first night, and we thoroughly enjoyed both the food and the experience. Yes, there is a charge for parking and a service fee, but we felt it was well worth the price to stay in such a lovely hotel. If we return to Manitou Springs, we would stay at the Cliff House again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvdcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a super time at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak. The staff members were pleasant, courteous and helpful - from the front desk and valet staff to the wait staff and housecleaning employees. We stayed in the Buffalo Bill Suite, which was perfect for us, since we are both fans of history and the old west time period. The suite was decorated with rustic elegance and the ceiling and walls were painted to look like you were staying in a huge Tee-Pee (since the room is in one of the hotel's turrets). The furnishings were great, with nice touches throughout, the gas fireplace was perfect, and the two-person jetted tub with shower was fantastic. The queen bed was comfortable (not quite firm enough for us, but it worked and we slept well). The robes in the rooms are attractive black robes that are comfortable. We are buying one, for sure. In addition to having a hideaway TV, the hotel provided a nice little CD player with a relaxing blend of music put out by the National Park Service. It was so nice we bought a CD on our way out.

We chose to eat in the Cliff House dining room for one evening and tried their "Table for Two" special. The special started with a beautiful mixed green salad with candied walnuts, blue cheese crumbles, artichoke hearts, tomatoes, etc. with a tasty vinaigrette dressing. The main entree was a pair of 6 oz. Filet Mignon's, stuffed with truffles and topped with melted blue cheese. The steaks were accompanied by mashed potatoes (both horseradish and honey combined for a perfect blend of tangy and sweet flavors in the potatoes), three spears of asparagus and a cooked carrot. The presentation was excellent and the taste was just right. The special ended with a trio of Creme Brule', which were three small dishes of Creme Brule' in Vanilla, Strawberry/Lime and Root Beer. Really nice! We added their mushroom appetizer to the special, which was out of this world good. The service was excellent and friendly, with the knowledgeable wait staff pleased to discuss the flavors and spices found in each dish. The ambiance of the dining room is very nice. Everywhere you look are Victorian touches, from the painted white woodwork to the wallpaper, carpeting and paintings.

The breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room. The service for breakfast was hit and miss (one morning our service was great, the next morning I had to search and find the coffee pot myself and pour our coffee a number of times), since the dining area was usually very busy, but the amount of food and choices available were great. 4 or 5 different cold cereals, juices, water, fresh fruit, pastries, sausage and gravy, french toast, scrambled eggs, bacon, mushrooms and sausage links, etc. You will not leave hungry!

The hotel also has hundreds of DVD movies you can choose from to take back to your room and watch, if you wish. The ambiance of the hotel is Victorian and elegant. We enjoyed spending time in the lobby area as well as on the porch in the comfortable wicker furniture, but, most of all, we LOVED our room and how comfortably elegant it was.

Our only minor complaint was that city workers decided they would fire up their heavy machinery and start work in the street right in front of the hotel at 7:30 am! Really? They can't see they are RIGHT NEXT to a HOTEL at 7:30 in the morning???!!! That wasn't the hotel's fault, though. Just saying you can be woken up early on your vacation if city workers decide to be, uh... idiots?

We recommend a stay at the Cliff House hotel in Manitou Springs! Especially in the Buffalo Bill Suite!

Room Tip: Being on the top floor with other "celebrity suites" made for a quiet, relaxing stay. Lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,908 reviews
3.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,101 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
554 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
215 reviews
6.0 mi away
Colorado Springs Marriott
Colorado Springs Marriott
#28 of 105 in Colorado Springs
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Property: The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing