We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No refund despite husband dying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I called 3 days in advance to cancel my reservation because my husband is hospitalized and may not recover and they refused to refund the $50 fee and asked if we wanted to rebook at a later time.

Room Tip: These people are terrible with no sense of ethics. Avoid them,
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
9  Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerGuy, General Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

We are incredibly sorry about your husband and are ashamed that we did not handle this in a more appropriate way. You mentioned that your husband was sick (not dying) and we offered to change the date (as is our policy.) Our apologies again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 849 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

You will entranced, sleep like a baby and feel at peace within minutes. Do not hesitate. Too much praise to heap here.......just believe the reviews and hotel website. Exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This hotel was located close to all shops and several restaurants. It was a short walk to the Cog trail to Pike's Peak and the colors of the trees were very bright yellow and so beautiful.
I enjoyed the mineral water.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jreagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Beautiful location, great atmosphere. Loved the accomodations here. Drove in during the snow and was greated quickly by the valet to get us indoors. The room was exceptionally charming. The heated toilet seat - who thought of that! Had dinner in the bar area, was warm and cozy with a nice fireplace. The seared pepper ahi tuna was very good, my husband had a cheese steak hoagie that was not so good. The breakfast that came with the package was satisfactory as we aren't big breakfast eaters. I would love to come back and stay again some time!

Room Tip: The King bed is two beds put together, would go for a queen next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKucharik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great customer service. Go for the queen room and not the king suite. The King is the old fashion type with two twins as the mattress. The complementary breakfast was great and dinner on the porch was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG_Dancers_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

There is good reason for this hotel to be named one of the 100 best hotels in the WORLD by Travel and Leisure magazine!
My wife and I take numerous weekend getaways, and this is definately our all time favorite.
Our only regret is that we didn't discover it long ago.
The amenities and level of service was superb.
The setting spectacular.
I could gush praises for 20 or so more paragraphs.
It just doesn't get any more wonderful than the Cliff House.
The restaurant is just wonderful also.
Excellent food, romantic ambiance.

Room Tip: We had a studio room and it was wonderful, but we will upgrade to a suite for the fireplace next tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Just ended a sorely needed weekend getaway! Wound up at at Manitou Springs and the Cliff House. What a great decision. This hotel is exceptional. From it's Queen Anne exterior to its beautiful, modernized interior the place exudes charm. We stayed in a suite with fireplace and steam shower. The rooms were meticulously clean and well appointed. The fireplace was a romantic bonus that always adds a touch of warmth. The mornings breakfast buffet was also well presented and delicious. Staff was engaging and friendly. Spent an evening at the firepit and the bartender Mika practically fell over himself to be helpful. The hotel is easy to downtown and all local attractions. Others complain about the valet parking and frankly i think the hotel should just include it whether or not you use it as parking on the street is illegal. Manitou is a great little town and we will definitely return to the Cliff House.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matsobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
3.0 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,121 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,936 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#19 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,327 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
226 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Address: 306 Canon Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range: $127 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing