We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mesa Verde Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mesa Verde Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mancos
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here the end of June 2012 for two nights. We were passing through on our way to Iowa from AZ. and decided to explore Mesa Verde. This motel was nearby so we decided this would be a good place to stay. I made reservations a few weeks on advance. We arrived during the Weber Fire where the town was taking in evacuees from that fire, yet we were still welcomed guests. The room was extremely clean with everything we might need for the stay. The beds were comfortable. There was a microwave and fridge. The TV had all the channels and we had excellent wireless connection. There is not a pool, but there is ab hot tub. There is a nice restaurant next door to eat as well. I will stay here again the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZGirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    59
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
85
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

It's motels like the Mesa Verde Motel that make a road trip in the South West such fun. We turned up without a booking and luckily got a room at this family run motel. The motel room was immaculately clean. Staff were friendly, beds comfortable and free wifi. It's a short walk to the other restaurants in Mancos (recommend Absolute Bakery, avoid Mancos Pizza at all costs). Great value too. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TimeZoneHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Spent 2 nights here in June 2012 for a girls getaway. The motel is definitely older, but so super clean. The brown paneling in the two-room family room was super 1970's, but the beds were new and comfy with good sheets and pillows. Lots of towels (not too fluffy though) and AC that worked great. Two TV's, a fridge and microwave. Friendly people in the main office recommended the Absolute Bakery for breakfast (good oatmeal!) We had a great time here-it was close to Mesa Verde park entrance and about 30 minutes from Cortez (where there is a Walmart for stocking up on supplies). Spent about 90.00 a night.

Room Tip: Our family room was in the corner, away from the road and away from the hot tub. Super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slc_singer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Used Trip advisor for big 10 day trip with party of 6!
This hotel is CLEAN, great resturants right near by, walk to them for both dinner and breakfast!
Friendly staff, quiet town. I am particular about where we sleep. I was nervous, but this Motel is very nice.

Room Tip: Bring soap and shampoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GManMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We got stranded in Mancos with a busted motorcycle and where not planning to stay here at all. However, the repairs will take another day, so we checked in the Mesa Verde Motel - what a nice surprise it was! Its a little dated, but staff was friendly and the rooms are super clean.

Since the Mesa Verde National Park is just around the corner, we just decided to stay another night and check out the local attraction. I was also told that Mancos has a distillery - so there will be some rum sampling tonight.

To sum it up, the Mesa Verde Motel is not the Hilton, but certainly worth the money and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancos, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I looked at the good reviews tripadvisor travelers had given this little hotel and decided to drive through Cortez to stay here. I've spent 9 hours in the car to get here and be able to relax in the hot tub that is advertised. The receptionist said it had just had chemicals put in and was not available. After eating at the nearby restaurant, and having really poor food, I told the receptionist that I thought I should be compensated for not being able to use the hot tub. She called her parents who said that although the hot tub had "milky colored water, maybe because someone had on sunscreen" I was welcome to use it. I told her I did not use hot tubs with dirty water. At this time of day, I have not choice but to stay here. At least the room is relatively quiet until a truck lurches through on the road in front of the hotel. I would never recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MancosInkeeper, Owner at Mesa Verde Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are very sorry that this guest was not completely satisfied with our facility. We strive to make everyone's stay with us a very pleasant one. However, sometimes things happen beyond our control.

We have no control over the presentation of a meal at a nearby restaurant that we do not own. We also have no control over when the State of Colorado decides to start roadwork in front of our facility.

The night before this guest arrived at our facility, we apparently had some guests who used our hot tub wearing sunscreen or some type of body oil which caused the water to appear somewhat cloudy. We began treating the water in the morning when it was discovered and continued working on this problem all afternoon. We advised our daughter (receptionist) to close the hot tub for the evening as it did not meet our high standards. When this guest arrived and asked to use the hot tub, she was advised that it was closed and why. The guest made it sound as though she made the trip just to use the hot tub and asked to be compensated for the fact that she could not use the tub. We were contacted by our daughter who relayed our guest's frustration over the closing of the hot tub. We felt bad that our guest was unhappy and told our daughter to go ahead and let her use the hot tub if she wished. We had hoped that our efforts during the day had taken care of the problem. The tub was always useable, just not the way we like to see it which is crystal clear and non-foaming. Our guest never checked the hot tub to see if it was even acceptable.

The following morning, we checked with the nearby restaurant regarding the poor meal service and was advised by the waitress that this guest did in fact eat there and after finishing her meal, said that it was not up to standards and asked to be compensated. She was not compensated.

Unfortunately, this guest asked us to compensate her for the closing of the hot tub and when we refused, she gave us a poor rating on TA. When she went to a nearby restaurant, had what she felt was a poor meal, asked to be compensated and was refused, she rated them Terrible on TA. We can assure you that we take this review very seriously and this is not the norm. We strive to make every guest a happy one. Curt & Barbara, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I wasn't exacting much from a small motel in a small town, but this place was a really nice surprise. We were looking form some place just to have a sleep and go on and I found this place on Tripadvisor and decided to give it a try. I don't know if it's been newly built or just renovated recently but the rooms look really nice and modern. The rate was also very good, you can save some 30 and more bucks per night if you're about to visit the Mesa Verde NP and will stay in Mancos instead of Cortez which is bigger but just about some 10 minutes drive away. The property is family owned (at least I got that impression) and the staff was very kind and friendly so to sum it up,I would definitely recommend this motel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MancosInkeeper, Owner at Mesa Verde Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are pleased that your stay was better than you expected, that is our goal. We are family owned and operated and focus on customer service and cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
12.8 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
14.8 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
14.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.5 mi away
Ms. Kitty's Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mesa Verde Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mesa Verde Motel

Property: Mesa Verde Motel
Address: 191 Railroad Ave, Mancos, CO 81328-9059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mesa Verde Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel is located at the intersection of Hwy 160 & Hwy 184 in Mancos. We have 16 non-smoking rooms, 8 rooms with two full beds, 7 rooms with one queen bed and 1 family room with three full beds. All rooms are air conditioned and equipped with 32" flat screen televisions,coffee makers, hair dryers, refrigerators and microwaves. We have 2 dedicated pet rooms. Rooms are very clean, AAA approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mesa Verde Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing