We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Heaven on earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abode at Willowtail Springs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mancos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abode at Willowtail Springs
Save
You added Abode at Willowtail Springs to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 6 Mancos B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

This is an ecological wonder--a beautiful spot with its own lake and surrounding pine and juniper trees. The lodgings are all unique and different but wonderfully cozy and beautiful. I stayed in the Bungalow looking over the water to the La Plata Mountains. The sun woke me every morning reflecting off the lake. The kitchen was easy to cook in--everything needed was there. Special home touches in the decor, amenities and setting made my stay very peaceful and relaxing. The only sounds were the many birds. Lots of room to walk and explore and many Pinion and Ponderosas that were saved from the Bark Beetle making the surrounding area very special. Great place for a retreat--alone or with a group.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PLewis4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Staying here for only 3 nights was no where nearly enough! We had so much planned for our visit to Mancos but quickly decided to spend most of our time at this tranquil getaway. Everything from having a barbeque on the deck, canoeing in the lake and having the cats follow us about was wonderful and I would recommend this place with its fantastically welcoming owners to anyone.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AmyChicago4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

My husband and I just spent 5 relaxing nights in the Lakehouse with our 3 children (10,12 & 14). The house was very comfortable and nicely appointed with amazing views of the lake and mountains right off the deck. The gardens were beautiful and added to the peaceful feeling of the property. The kids enjoyed fishing from the canoes, playing with the cats and relaxing in the hot tub. We also spent a day at Mesa Verde National Park, explored Durango and did some hiking. The location feels like you are far away from everything, yet you are very centrally located. The owners were great and happy to make recommendations for restaurants, markets, etc. Willowtail Springs is a very special place that we would love to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdmcatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

My husband, myself and another couple visited Colordo last August and stayed at "Willowtail Springs" for 5 days. This place is a real "find". Beautiful setting, with lovely manicured gardens surrounding three cabins, set back from a main road, ensuring privacy to guests. The owners, Pat and Lee, have artfully decorated each cabin, and supplied the kitchen with utencils, pots, glassware, china and an array of spices. Additionally, home made cookies, milk, eggs, breads, juice and fresh fruit are provided. The bathrooms are stocked with towels that are plentiful and large bottles of toiletries. The furnishings are beautiful, with good beds and quality linens. We stayed in the "Lakeside" cabin which is a large two story log cabin with two "sitting rooms". a separate dining room, 3 bedrooms, one full bath ,one half bath, and a large deck overlooking a small lake. There are canoes and fishing gear for those so inclined. The cabin is also stocked with a library that includes books and dvd's. The owners are on the property but are not at all intrusive. In fact we would have liked to have gotten to know them better! This is one of the most beautiful cabins that we have ever found in any area of the country. We apologize for this late entry!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine_Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

My husband, daughter and I spent several days in paradise at this small vacation destination in Southwest Colorado. There are three cabins on the property and ours was the largest with 3br, a modern kitchen, and a deck overlooking a small, lively lake filled with jumping fish and birds all around and a view of snow-capped mountains. The owners, Peggy and Lee Cloy, have beautiful flower gardens and trees all around the property and the house is filled with beautiful old furniture and artwork. Peggy brought fresh bread, jam, and juice for our breakfasts and fresh flowers for the tables. There's a hottub by the lake and boats to use. There are plentiful videos, DVDs, books, and games for indoor entertainment and one feels totally at home in this comfortable, charming cabin. We didn't want to leave.

  • Liked — The homey atmosphere of the facilities
  • Disliked — One night was hot without air conditioning (very unusual though)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
11.8 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 1,575 reviews
12.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Sundance Bear Lodge
Sundance Bear Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mancos
5.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode at Willowtail Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode at Willowtail Springs

Property: Abode at Willowtail Springs
Address: 10451 Road 39, PO Box 89, Mancos, CO 81328-7921
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode at Willowtail Springs is a gorgeous property with a large private lake and 60 acres of forests and streams. Three log cabins face the lake and the mountains. Fully equipped kitchens are stocked with fresh eggs, organic juice, fruit, bread, granola coffee,cream,tea,spices and homemade cherry/raspberry jam and staples. Two cabins accommodate two - four people. The larger cabin accommodates six people. Boats are provided and fishing gear. A private two person hot tub and stone patio overhang the lake and the mountains. A library, fireplace, fresh flowers,spa products and wireless connection are in each cabin,as well as outside grill and lovely picnic seating. Visit us at this paradise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing