We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful cabin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mancos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abode at Willowtail Springs
Ranked #3 of 6 Mancos B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful cabin”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed four nights in the bungalow.

Lovely location and outlook onto the pond / lake. Very convenient for Mesa Verde National Park and not too far from Durango, though Mancos and Cortez are more convenient for dining / provisions.

Good facilities in the cabin and some useful catering provided, eg. Granola, eggs, bread, fruit, milk, coffee.

Hadn't realised the bungalow was attached to the Lakeview house, but wasn't a problem. Also the walls between the sections of the bungalow leave little to the imagination so ensure you're close to the person you go with!

Lee and Peggy are good hosts and available when you need them.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is our second tine to stay at Wiilotail Springs! We love staying here because it is in such a secluded location, but not so far from Durango and Mancos! Additionally the place is just lovely with beautiful gardens and views of the mountains and the pond! We felt so rejuvenated by our stay!

Room Tip: All 3 cabins are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We made a stop at Willowtail Springs this summer on our Colorado road trip. This place is heavenly and a great place to relax and unwind. Peggy and Lee make you feel so welcome. We stayed at the Lake House and is was just right for our family. The fresh eggs, bread, jam, fruit and coffee to make your own breakfast was delicious. Our boys had a great time fishing in the pond and caught some huge fish. We would definitely stay here again.

Dean and Melinda

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moretown, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Tasteful comfortable cabin with room to roam. Delicious bread, jam and eggs and coffee you can make your own breakfast. Kitchen is equipped well. Mancos is a funky town with neat art galleries and coffe shops. Mesa Verde just minutes away. The pond on the property fills with bird life and the fishing is pretty darn good. Family of 4 with two teens so happy here. Lee was a great host. This 4 night stay was the highllight of our family trip to Colorado.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LizDewLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The other reviews here are very well written and reflect our experience at willowtail springs. Peggy and Lee have created peace and serenity and allow others to share the environment. We stayed in the lake house in the spring. Our stay was perfect in every way. The weather was fantastic and the cabin was great. It was a little cold, but we would sit bundled on the deck overlooking the pond every night, drinking wine and watching the birds and water fowl. As others have said, we didn't want to leave the property, but still managed to explore the ruins etc, though many weren't open at the time we visited. We also were able to cook many of our meals which saved money and provided more relaxation, because we didn't have to worry about where we would go for our next meal. Everything we needed was provided, we just brought the ingredients. The beds were very comfy. So comfy that when I returned home i replaced my bedding to model the bedding in the lakehouse. Peggy and Lee were also very kind to our children, showing them around and discussing things with them. The kids really enjoyed Beau, the adorable and friendly dog, and the cat Bear Visited often. There were also lots of interesting books and games available, we played many games and my daughter read most of the children's books. These are just a few examples of the efforts that have been made to make your trip enjoyable. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The lake house is a little more money, but is like having your own retreat on the lake. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I returned for a second visit to this very special place after an intensive course about the early people who lived on the Colorado Plateau. Near Mesa Verde and a host of other fascinating archeological sites, Willowtail Springs is a haven of peace and quiet. Unlike it's neighbors, it is nestled in a lush collection of native pines and junipers where wildlife abound and trails beckon. There is shade here from the intense sun. I stayed in the Garden Cottage this time and loved waking up to the sun shining through the trees. Everything I needed was there--a complete kitchen, farm-fresh eggs and juice in the fridge, and many places to relax and enjoy the quiet--a rare commodity in our busy, noisy world. The lovely lake and hot tub were a short walk away. I love the thoughtful way the hosts appointed the Cottage--with flare and whimsy. And their thoughtfulness extends to accommodating any unmet need. This is a great place for a solo get-away or a family gathering. Mancos is close by and boasts several excellent restaurants, including Olio. Zuma, the local organic market, coffee shop and cafe is a great resource. And the local artist's cooperative just off the main highway, has a marvelous collection of unique items. Willowtail Springs if truly a find in the world of copy cat resorts--unique and nurturing.

Room Tip: The Garden Cottage is cozy and private--great place for a single respite or a romantic getaway. It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLewis4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

When we were showed into our cabin, we were so shocked at how stunning the view was we said 'this is where you live, right?' Lee, the owner, said 'no, this is your cabin!'. The view from the large cabin across the lake and to the mountains is simply stunning. Nothing better than sitting on the deck with a drink and just taking in the scenery and the peace and quiet. Our stay was perfect, Lee and Peggy went out of there way, they even purchased a brand new pack and play for us!. Nothing was too much hassle and they are such lovely people to speak to. It's a perfect spot to explore the Mesa Verde and also just spend time on their land walking around and enjoying the lake. I thoroughly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
11.8 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,706 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
18.2 mi away
Circle K Guest Ranch
Circle K Guest Ranch
#2 of 2 in Dolores
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
12.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
1.0 mi away
Sundance Bear Lodge
Sundance Bear Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mancos
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode at Willowtail Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode at Willowtail Springs

Property: Abode at Willowtail Springs
Address: 10451 Road 39, PO Box 89, Mancos, CO 81328-7921
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abode at Willowtail Springs is a gorgeous property with a large private lake and 60 acres of forests and streams. Three log cabins face the lake and the mountains. Fully equipped kitchens are stocked with fresh eggs, organic juice, fruit, bread, granola coffee,cream,tea,spices and homemade cherry/raspberry jam and staples. Two cabins accommodate two - four people. The larger cabin accommodates six people. Boats are provided and fishing gear at no extra cost. A private two person hot tub and stone patio overhang the lake and the mountains. A library, fireplace, fresh flowers,spa products and wireless connection are in each cabin,as well as outside grill and lovely picnic seating. Visit us at this paradise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing