We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Majestic Dude Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Majestic Dude Ranch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose to celebrate our anniversary at the ranch! Seldom do you visit a place that doesn't disappoint. Majestic is such a place! Everything was top notch! We stayed in a beautiful, just renovated room, with lots of space to spread out! The food was highly rated and it deserves the high rating! Each meal was delicious, nutritious, and different. We came for the horseback riding and again we were not disappointed. Both our horses were perfect for us. I highly recommend coming on Sunday and leaving on Saturday because the rides got gradually more difficult and longer as our comfort level improved. Each trail was different and "majestic!" When not on the trails, there were many other activities to do. Once again, Robert, the hands on owner, was sure to purchase the best equipment. The mountain bikes were fabulous. The Whitewater Rafting trip, included in your price, was such fun! All staff were happy to help out in any way they could. I didn't get to read my book because there was just too much to do! Can't say enough about Robert. He loves teaching new skills to the guests. Flyfishing, clay shooting, roping, just to name a few. Highly recommend the Majestic if you are looking for an awesome dude ranch experience!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just returned from 3 action packed nights at Majestic Dude Ranch. It was a great trip for the whole family. I have 9 year old and 4 year old and both loved the whole experience. There was never a dull moment, this place is more than just horseback riding; rafting, mountain biking, fly fishing, and hiking. The place was very clean, the food was great, and the entire staff was very friendly and attentive to any need. Robert, the owner, was very involved and new every guest by name. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and would love the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tab L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Majestic is one of the most amazing places my family has ever been to! The beauty is found in the setting, activities, food etc but mostly in the staff and hands-on owner Robert! He and his staff go out of their way to make sure any and every need or desire you have is met.

If they don't offer and activity you want, they will find it nearby, take you and cover the cost! The food is exceptional and every type of meal preference is met.

The accommodations range from rustic to modern based on your desire and family size. This is a family style ranch, not a new spa style setting so you should keep this in mind as you make your choices.

The ranch plans activities for the children so that adults may have their own time together or you may do all activities together as a family if you so choose. The horseback riding is exceptional and the variety of rides and settings for each ride is amazing! Each ride has a different trail and scenery so no ride is alike! The fishing, fly-fishing, kayaking and mountain biking are also top notch!

Since Robert prefers to cap his guest count around 50 or less each week, you all have a wonderful opportunity to meet new people and make friends from around the country. This low staff to guest ratio also provides an amazing customer service experience!

I have traveled extensively with my children and I can honestly say that Robert and his staff provided one of the most amazing opportunities for us to MAKE MEMORIES that last will last a lifetime!

I highly recommend The Majestic Dude Ranch to all who are looking to smile, laugh and make memories that they will carry with them forever!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaAnAlEl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Colorado at its best. The views from the ranch are breathtaking. It is surrounded by the San Juan Mountains. The ranch is a little slice of Colorado heaven. The cabins are comfortable, living room, 2 bedrooms and bathroom, there were 5 of us, and we had enough room. There is a big dinning hall with a fireplace with long tables to eat your meals at. The food was exceptionally good, ranging from lamb chops to fish to Italian sauce. Fresh cookies are baked every afternoon. Vicky made German potato salad one day for lunch.....delish.

So many things to do. From going out for a morning ride to fly fishing. But the stars of the ranch are the people who work there. There is nothing and I do mean nothing that they won't do for you. Robert is the owner and is very friendly and always available. Jenn and Brandon are in charge of the horses. They are so nice and very knowledgeable about every horse and which one would be perfect for you.

Don't hesitate. Make the reservation and pack your bags. Be sure to bring your boots!!!!

Room Tip: Bring your cowboy boots and hat...get into the experience. You're in Colorado now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dholstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our second time at Majestic. First time was a dream come true. All the activities, the cabins, the 4**** meals--better than we have had on cruises, the wranglers, the owner, Robert. Everything was wonderful. I am writing this review in spite of the fact that for the first two days, WE HAD NO WATER!! You read it right, no water!! We were there the last week of May, 2012. Many guests. I never heard a person complain about the situation. Robert and his crew worked extra hard to see that fresh water was available for us to drink and for the greatest menus in the world to be prepared. There was nothing Majestic could do about the situation--seems there was a water line broken. The staff treated us like royalty, appreciating the fact that we were all taking this in stride. We learned to cope. Being there was so relaxing, so much fun: We fished, went whitewater rafting, rode horses, western line dancing, cowboy poetry around campfire under the stars, canoeing, bow and arrow, played baseball on a regulation size baseball field (batting cage also available) and more!! Everything great.

Back again this year--ditto above-EXCEPT we did not have water problem. Swimming pool and hot tub also available. Hope to go again next year. Please note, my husband and I are 71 and 70. We were the oldest there and we had a ball. This was on our bucket list, we did it, did it again, and plan to go back!! Majestic, you Rock!

Room Tip: Stayed in two different cabins. This years cabin was completely renovated. Very nice. Next year p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrymary5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our family of 5 had an amazing time at the Majestic Dude Ranch! Robert, the owner, goes above and beyond... I don't think 'no' is in his vocabulary. We went mountain biking, shot skeet, went white water rafting, hiking, horse back riding, archery etc... It was non-stop fun and then to have fabulous food to top it off. It was not a run of the mill trip. It was great not having a tv and the kids not texting... There wasn't time for that:) Thank you to everyone that worked at MDR, you are somethin' special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRKoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our family of 5 (mom, dad, and teens=19, 19, 17) had a great time. Adventures each day for our 3 day stay. You pick your favorites and they cater it to your ability level. Horse back rides, mt. bikes (easier rides and challenging courses), mt. climbing (12,800 ft), skeet shooting, kayaking, ww rafting (class 2-3), and more. With variety of guests (lots of families, singles, couples, multi-generational families), Excellent food, and helpful/fun staff, it was like a cruise-type of vacation in the mountains, with activities and meeting others from around the country. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
15.7 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
14.8 mi away
Circle K Guest Ranch
Circle K Guest Ranch
#1 of 2 in Dolores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sundance Bear Lodge
Sundance Bear Lodge
#1 of 5 in Mancos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
16.7 mi away
Blue Lake Ranch
Blue Lake Ranch
#4 of 12 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Echo Basin Ranch
Echo Basin Ranch
#6 of 8 in Mancos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Dude Ranch

Property: Majestic Dude Ranch
Address: 42688 Road N, Mancos, CO 81328-9012
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Majestic Dude Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-owned and oriented Colorado guest ranch nestled high in the pristine wilderness of the San Juan Mountains and just 35 minutes from Durango, CO. A week-long, all-inclusive Colorado dude ranch vacation provides families with a lifetime of memories, whether that means long rides on a mountain trail, guided mountain bike tours, hikes in the neighboring national forest, catching a rainbow trout along the banks of a cool stream, lake or river, or just relaxing by the fire with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Majestic Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing