We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Exciting rolled into one!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Majestic Dude Ranch
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Exciting rolled into one!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Majestic Dude Ranch, for two polar opposites on “what makes an ideal vacation” this place was perfect for both of us. My husband wanted to fish and relax, I wanted to ride and hike the beautiful mountains. The owner and staff were very attentive and worked hard to make the stay terrific. The food was great, and the timing always seemed to be perfect. From coming back freezing cold from fishing in the river to hot sandwiches and clam chowder, to a good carbo load pasta dinner the night before the extreme hike am, followed by 3 ½ hour ride in the pm. The number of activities are endless, in addition from the ones already mentioned, mountain biking, skeet shooting, shopping trips to Durango, kayaking and white water rafting. The activities can fit varying activity levels, even some of the rides are broken into levels to fit your comfort and capability.

We had a great time meeting, visiting and getting to know everyone at the ranch. We all seemed to have a commonality amongst us; and I believe part of the reason we connected so well with all the other visitors stemed from the friendliness of the owner and staff.

We also liked that the ranch, meals, snacks and drinks in room and all the activities are all inclusive with your stay. No hidden cost, everything was plentiful from food to activities.

Wonderful place, wonderful trip and wonderful people, can’t wait to return!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olathedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is the BEST vacation EVER!!! The website is the most accurate website I have ever seen! Everything is perfect at the ranch. Your every desire is met with a smile. We can't wait for next summer so we can go back. Kids had a GREAT time....something for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wannabecowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just got back from our trip to the Majestic Dude Ranch and it was the very best vacation. Our whole family had a great time. The kids did every activity and loved meeting and becoming friends with other kids from all over the world. We were so busy from sun up to way past sundown. Amazing wranglers and horses, mountain biking (my new favorite thing!), white water rafting, fly fishing and great hikes. The food was delicious and the staff was caring, thoughtful and friendly. Some of our favorite parts of the trip include when our family tried to do team penning where we would try to get cows to move from one side of the ring to a pen on the other. On horseback we are more like a comedy group with everyone including the cows going in different directions. Team penning is now family lore. We are now sitting around at dinner wondering if our horses misses us :) We miss them. The owner and staff went out of their way to do everything possible for us to have a wonderful experience. I just can't say enough great things about Majestic and what a fantastic time we had and I am sure you will too. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms and bed was great. Very clean and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rperls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a great trip for our family! My girls commented that it was non stop fun! The activities offered a great variety for all of us and my girls even enjoyed their first adventure on a baseball field! Their favorite moments were the horseback riding ( top notch horses for all of us! ), kayaking on the lake, the rodeo, and the white water rafting. My favorite parts were watching the joy on my girls faces as they rode away from the ranch happy as can be, doing the family team penning, the hike to 12,800 feet ( it was amazing ), and the endless amount of time spent together without the distractions of life!! The counselors were the best and my girls LOVED being with them. The owner went out of his way to meet every one of our needs and helped make this trip spectacular! His upgrades of the ranch are amazing and when the project is complete it will be a top notch place to vacation! Don't wait until it's done though! He already has upgraded rooms for everyone's enjoyment! We didn't stay in an upgraded room and our trip was still well worth it!! We'll be back next year no matter which room we end up in! This is a ranch that cares about it's guests !

Room Tip: We liked staying in the cabins but they haven't been upgraded yet. The rooms that are all conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mynda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We just returned from a trip to the Majestic Dude Ranch and the whole family had a great time. The kids were thanking us for taking them and asking if we could go again next year.

There are a lot of activities to choose from at the ranch: Horseback Riding, Fly-fishing, Kayaking, Lake Fishing, Baseball, Mountain Biking, Hiking, Swimming, Whitewater Rafting and the list goes on. The entire staff was very welcoming and friendly. They go out of your way to make sure everyone is having a good time. If there isn't an activity scheduled that you want to take part in they encourage you to let them know and they will help you find something you do like.

The food was great. I was never hungry and the staff went out of their way to make sure there was food I could eat on my Paleo diet. The owner even does made to order omelets a few times, complete with a flip of the omelet.

There are wranglers to make sure you get a horse you are comfortable with and to take you on beautiful rides. The rides start out shorter and are progressively longer during the week. You can take an all day trail ride at the end of the week if you like.

There is gold-medal fishing nearby. We had many fly-fishermen in our group so we had a combined horseback riding/ fly-fishing trip one day which was just gorgeous.

If you are into mountain biking they have high end bikes that you can enjoy. Some are speed and some are comfort bikes, you choose which is right for you. There are some top 10 mountain bike trails in the area that you can go on if you are experienced. We had several staying that week that did so.

Our kids aren't generally very active and they really enjoyed this trip. We were even a bit surprised by how well they did and how they enjoyed getting out and learning new things. They especially enjoyed whitewater rafting, archery, riding in an ATV and getting to know their horses.

I can't recommend this place high enough. We will definitely be back. The stay is all-inclusive and they don't try to up-sell you or nickel and dime you for extras. It was a fabulous relaxing, yet very active trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greeneyesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
14.6 mi away
Circle K Guest Ranch
Circle K Guest Ranch
#2 of 2 in Dolores
120 reviews
15.8 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,734 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Dolores River Campground and Cabins
4.0 mi away
Ms. Kitty's Country Inn
3.9 mi away
Sundance Bear Lodge
Sundance Bear Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mancos
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Dude Ranch

Property: Majestic Dude Ranch
Address: 42688 Road N, Mancos, CO 81328-9012
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Mancos
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-owned and oriented Colorado guest ranch nestled high in the pristine wilderness of the San Juan Mountains and just 35 minutes from Durango, CO. A week-long, all-inclusive Colorado dude ranch vacation provides families with a lifetime of memories, whether that means long rides on a mountain trail, guided mountain bike tours, hikes in the neighboring national forest, catching a rainbow trout along the banks of a cool stream, lake or river, or just relaxing by the fire with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Majestic Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing