We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arborena is now Olio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arborena - CLOSED

Arborena
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: A new wine bar and gallery on the main street in Mancos. Delicious home made pizzas and other small dishes prepared to order. Great wine list and gallery show change often.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arborena is now Olio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Olio is run by the former chef of Kennebec Cafe. Wow! Fantastic food. The artichoke appetizer is amazing. We also enjoyed the deviled eggs. The trout was perfectly prepared. We will be going back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tucson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Restaurant Arborena now closed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Not really a review but important to note, I feel, for potential future travellers to Mancos. Sadly this restaurant has now closed. It looks as if another restaurant is going to open to replace it but at the time of writing (May 2012) this hasn't happened. If you are looking for a good place to eat in Mancos then the Absolute Bakery is a must but PLEASE PLEASE avoid the pizza place across the road (Mancos Pizza, part of the Grocery store). They don't have their own tripadvisor listing so I cannot post there but their food hygiene standards are the worst I've even seen in 30 years of travelling in Europe, Asia, the US and the Far East.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeZoneHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely combination of restaurant, wine bar and gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

it is a restaurant. it is a wine bar. it is a gallery. Everything in one room with only a small number of tables. Feels like sitting in a nice and comfortable living room. They have only a small selection of dishes but what they have is made only of the freshest ingridients and tastes delicously. Good wines to go with the food. Very friendly staff! This restaurant/bar could very well be in New York, San Francisco or London - but I am afraid than you would have to pay three times as much ;-)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunflower131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent mexican experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

The restaurant is small but very cozy, in the main street of Mancos. Reservations recommended: there are only four or five tables. It also houses an art gallery with items of local artists that you can buy. The Mexican food is excellent with quite a selection. Good selection of wines, also by the glass. The owner is very kind and advice on courses have proved very useful. The price is in keeping with the quality and instead.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Franc0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere, eclectic food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Walked down here for dinner here with hubby and our two boys during our stay at the Mesa Verde Motel. The menu for the week was Mexican which wouldn't work for our 10 year old, so they kindly whipped up a pesto pizza for him which he loved. Our 13 year old had the avocado tostado, which was basically an avocado salad, and he also enjoyed his meal. Hubby had chicken enchiladas and I had the cod tacos. Enchiladas were very flavorful; I could have done with a bit more spice in the tacos.

For dessert we sampled the berry tart and the molten chocolate cake. The tart was amazing -- I meant to ask where they got the berries, they were so fresh. Hubby stole part of my tart! Cake was great, too, but the tart stole the show.

Atmosphere was fantastic, with interesting art on the walls and beautiful tables made of twisted tree trunks topped with glass. Service was great -- the waitress kept our water glasses continuously filled and she was quite attentive. A local fellow even came over and explained the painting we were admiring, as he was friends with the artist.

Overall, a pleasant adventure. Also make sure to check out all the galleries and shops along on the street.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gdwtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arborena also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing