We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Host, Super Facility - A beautiful place for peace and quiet and R &R”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mancos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mancos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super Host, Super Facility - A beautiful place for peace and quiet and R &R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Our host, Harris, made our stay very comfortable and memorable in a good way. His home was beautiful and welcoming and the location was well worth the short drive from Mancos to get there. We enjoyed our conversations in the evening with both the host and other guests. Wildlfe was present every day with turkeys and hummingbirds and a hoot owl out side our bedroom in the evening. Breakfast was great and so relaxing that we didn't want to leave the table in the morning. We've stayed at a few B&Bs across the country and this was one of the best and most enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravelersOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
89
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

In Sept 2010 my wife and I enjoyed a wonderful 3 day / 2 nite stay at Flagstone Meadows, and we wanted to let you know how marvelous we found it. It's easy to recognize the difference when people are just running a business, vs. truly enjoying their work and serving travelers. Harris Court is of course in this latter category.

Inside, expect super-clean facilities in a relaxed country atmosphere. This B&B is very tastefully and interestingly decorated, and attended by a "people person" landlord who truly enjoys what he's doing. Be prepared to enjoy well-prepared, sumptuous breakfasts and lively discussion as guests get to meet each other.

Outside the dining room's big bay window you can watch as half a dozen wild turkeys gather along with the magpies and crows, ready to haul off the breakfast scraps. Enjoy beautiful mountain and meadow views so far back off the main road you can neither see nor hear the road. Nothing to hear but the mountain breezes gently rattling through the quaking aspen leaves.

What a wonderful place to build and run a great B&B. And 'great' it is! We hope YOU enjoy it as much as we did. In fact, we're already planning our next visit there next summer!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynwoodJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Five of us arrived in our Miata's. I had some concerns about the road due to a review I had read about the 3 miles of dirt road. The road is fine, yes our cars got dirty but there is a car wash in Mancos. My dad gave me the stink-eye when we arrived, I know that I had told him about the road. After being there for a very short time, he didn't mind the road one bit! We stayed 3 nights. The home is absolutely beautiful, amazing views and the humming birds and turkeys were a delight to watch. Harris is a wonderful host, you feet right at home. He has an amazing sense of humor and is very knowledgeable of the area. He recommended 2 restaurants, both were excellent. One of our party became ill and Harris gave us directions and recommendations for a new clinic in Durango. She was well taken care of there. Harris is an excellent cook, the breakfasts were wonderful and plentiful. In the evening, we had some sort of snack. The first night was cookies and the second night was dessert cups with ice cream, chocolate sauce and a strawberry. The beautiful home, the peaceful surroundings and Harris, it's the complete package!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reindeerlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

This B&B is a cut above most B&B’s. My husband and I stayed at Flagstone Meadows for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The B&B is a beautiful log house, built by the owner and located on a private road with a stunning view of Mesa Verde. It is situated on a 40-acre property and the setting is very peaceful and scenic. There is a 1/2 –mile walking trail on the property. The house is immaculately kept and beautifully decorated.

Breakfasts are delicious and different each morning. There is always fruit and juice plus a hot entrée. The rooms have comfortable beds and private baths with nice, thick towels. Some rooms have a fireplace – ours also had a private balcony. You can sit out on the big deck and enjoy the cool evening and the many hummingbirds. Downstairs is a pool table and the TV. We were served a wonderful homemade baked apple dessert one evening.

My husband and I have stayed in many, many lovely B&B’s over the years, both in the US and overseas. Flagstone Meadows is our favorite, and that is primarily because of the wonderful host of Flagstone Meadows. Harris Court is a warm, friendly, interesting man who has a vast knowledge of Pueblo and Navajo cultures. He can provide valuable advice on sights, driving routes, area restaurants and much more. Harris also makes you feel as though you are visiting family, not staying in a B&B. The best part of each day was coming back to the B&B in the evening after dinner and sitting on the deck as the sun set, chatting with Harris and other guests.

Don't hesitate to stay at this wonderful B&B. It was an honor for us to get to know Harris, and we hope to stay at this B&B again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storkonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Ky.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Not only was this a beautiful B&B but Harris Court was one of the most interesting men we have ever met. He made our stay so interesting. We saw wild turkeys ,deer, humminbirds by the hundreds and a magnifcent view of Mesa Verde. Harris pulled his guests together by a marvelous sense of humor and encouraged us to talk to each other. He knows and respects the land. Will we go back? For sure! Thank you Harris. See you soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpolicesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

What a lovely setting. Harris has a large, beautiful home that he shares with his guests. You feel like you are part of the family not a paying guest. The rooms are exceptionally clean, well appointed and the common areas are large and fully equipped including a pool table and fridge filled with sodas. There is a large deck with nice deck furniture and views of the mountains, hummingbirds and wild turkeys.

Harris is a gracious host and very knowledgeable of the area's sites, restaurants and hiking trails and recommended both a wonderful restaurant and hiking trail.

If I find myself in the Mancos area again, I won't hesitate a minute to stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eralchname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

This is one of the best if not the best B&B's I have ever stayed at. The setting is suputb- great views in all directions, The rooms are comfortable and clean and the service cannot be beat. Harris is very knowedgeable about the area and activities. The home is 3 miles down a dirt road but the road is so smooth it is not much different than riding on the pavement so don't let that keep you from discovering this gem. Harris got up early to prepare breakfast for those of us who had to be at an activity prior to the usual breakfast time Harris has a way of making you feel like an honored guest instead of just a paying customer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samnbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
11.2 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
11.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.0 mi away
Sundance Bear Lodge
Sundance Bear Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mancos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mesa Verde Motel
Mesa Verde Motel
#1 of 3 in Mancos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Property: Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Address: P.O. Box 1137, Mancos, CO 81328-1137
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience this beautiful and spacious timber lodge, on 36 serene acres; only 30 minutes to Durango, just 10 minutes to Mesa Verde. Gorgeous 360 degree views of mountains, valley and meadows. Eight charming and uniqely decorated guest rooms each with private full bath; four have decks. Enjoy the soothing Hot Tub, Infrared Sauna, Billards table, Foos Ball, Satellite TV, video library, delicious hearty breakfasts, sunshine days and star-filled nights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing