We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mancos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mancos B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a lovely house, beautifully furnished with American Indian art.
Harris was very welcoming & interesting to talk to. He made us a good breakfast on the two mornings we were here, then sat at the head of the table & kept the conversation general among all the guests. Plus there was a large flock of wild turkeys just outside the dining room window to entertain us.
The setting is very quiet but close to Mesa Verde & Mancos where we had a superb dinner where he recommended we go the first night. He also recommended that we visit a vineyard on the way to Hovenweep which was a nice change from National Parks & archaeological sites.
We were very glad that we passed close to the turn off for Flagstaff on our way to Mesa Verde & decided to find the B&B first. It FEELS a long way from the main road the first time you drive it. There are some confusing changes in direction & a dirt road, something we are not used to in Europe. If we'd done that drive for the first time, tired & in the dark, it would have been a real ordeal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinstonSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Flagstone Meadows. Was certainly wondering what we were getting in to when we turned down a dirt road and drove for three miles, but the reward was worth it. This is a beautiful house with views from every room. Your host - Harris - is very attentive, thoughtful and provides a delicious breakfast every morning. One morning we had to leave early for Durango to catch the train and he got up early and prepared a large breakfast for us to make sure we didn't go without. He is a wonderful host. The rooms are very comfortable and getting under the large comfortor on a chilly October morning makes you not want to get out of it! Although we used this B&B as a point to tour the area, I would also highly recommend it just to go and relax and enjoy the views. It is so peaceful there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvstravling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was just what we needed at the end of our vacation. This place is so relaxing and peaceful, and the host, Harris, is probably the best B&B host we've ever met. The views were outstanding, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and the breakfast was huge and delicious.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank clk215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Wow, what a wonderful bed and breakfast! We've stayed at several in the area (plus several hotels) and this was by far the nicest. The host, Harris, is a wonderful conversationalist. My husband and I are usually very quiet/shy, but easily spent 3 hours sitting on the deck, watching the hummingbirds and talking to Harris. My parents stayed there too, and he was wonderful with them. Here are some highlights: 1) lovely 8 bedroom, 8 bathroom log home which is beautifully decorated, 2) nice, well marked hiking trail off of the back deck, 3) great breakfast, 4) guest refrigerator off of the living room, 5) refrigerator full of pop/water for the guests, 6) pool table/game area, 7) electric fireplaces in the rooms, 8) the hummingbirds are everywhere and are mesmerising, and 9)my favorite - from our King room from the bed, I could look out of the window and see 'Knife's Edge' of Mesa Verde. We will definitely stay there again. It was an excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Flagstone Meadows is a large lovely family home turned into a B&B after the family had grown. Harris Court, the host, oversees the guests and cooks wonderful breakfasts each morning. The house is clean, well kept and beautifully decorated with Navaho decorations, western art and antiques. Each guest room has its own bath. Our room, on the first floor, had a balcony overlooking the rear of the property with a view of Mesa Verde. Harris has a 20 minute walking trail out back. Guests can use the lovely great room but when we were there most everyone wanted to be outside. There is a large deck with plenty of tables and chairs. For me the hummingbird feeders were a big draw. 15 -20 birds at a feeder at a time.
One might have thought there would be more wildlife out there but all we saw were some mountain cottontails and a couple of wild turkeys.
Harris is happy to give tips about what to see or where to eat in the region. We followed his advice on several tips with happy results.
Not much in "Historic Mancos" - you are better off going to Cortez. Try Tequilas Mex. Rest.
Also, Hovenweep is worthwhile. After touring Mesa Verde, I though Hovenweep would be anitclimatic but it was very interesting, less crowded.
When we left Flagstone Meadows after a 3 day stay, Harris sent us off with a bag of delicious oatmeat cookies. I would definitely stay there again. Especially now that I know how to get there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poodletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here for 2 nights so much that we decided to come back again next year for a longer stay. The mountains, Mesa Verde, the hummingbirds, the comfortable surroundings make this place a special find. Harris Court was an amazing host.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigJ070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great breakfasts, nice rooms, hummingbirds at the feeders on the deck in a western motif. Harris is very much the host - a wealth of information. Sadly we could see smoke (flames at night) of distant fires from Flagstone Meadows due to Colorado's drought - no worries, just a comment. Easy drive to Mesa Verde. We four would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
11.3 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,797 reviews
11.7 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
3.7 mi away
Mesa Verde Motel
Mesa Verde Motel
#1 of 3 in Mancos
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sundance Bear Lodge
Sundance Bear Lodge
#1 of 6 in Mancos
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 1137, Mancos, CO 81328-1137
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience this beautiful and spacious timber lodge, on 36 serene acres; only 30 minutes to Durango, just 10 minutes to Mesa Verde. Gorgeous 360 degree views of mountains, valley and meadows. Eight charming and uniqely decorated guest rooms each with private full bath; four have decks. Enjoy the soothing Hot Tub, Infrared Sauna, Billards table, Foos Ball, Satellite TV, video library, delicious hearty breakfasts, sunshine days and star-filled nights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing