We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house and great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mancos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Mancos B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed at Flagstone for two nights at the end of September. The house was airy and very spacious and our room was very light and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the Mesa Verde . The house is in a great location, a bit off the beaten track but very peaceful and quiet with nice views and a fantastic night sky. The house is near to the Mesa Verde National Park but you could easily enjoy staying at the house without venturing too far if you just want to relax.

Harris was very hospitable and knowledgeable and we had a few laughs when comparing the meaning of English and US words! We were so pleased we decided to stay here rather than Cortez. We will definately return if we are lucky enough to travel to this area again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyE42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 142 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have stayed in many B & Bs across the country, and Flagstone Meadows is in the top 3 ever. The location is fabulous - private, quiet, and more stars in the Colorado sky than we thought possible. The house is gorgeous - it's a spacious home, and each room offers an amazing sense of privacy and comfort. There are thoughtful touches everywhere! Harris Court, the owner, is probably one of the most interesting and adept hosts ever. His knowledge of the area with its history and culture is fascinating and made our day in Mesa Verde so much more than it otherwise would have been. And the breakfasts were outstanding. There just aren't enough superlatives to describe our two nights there. We would plan a return to the area just to be able to stay there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed here a 2 nights in October 2011. Very comfortable room, friendly people. Harris was very informative about the local sights (we did Mesa Verde) and the breakfast was great. Beautiful home in rustic setting (get there in daylight it'd be tough to find in the dark), nice walking trail from the backporch into the woods, loved seeing the magpies fly in and munch of the leftover breakfast. I can think of nothing negative, our experience was very positive.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiskangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

If you want to see Mesa Verde National Park many times, be sure stay at Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast in Mancos, Colorado. Just reserve a room that faces the park.

Flagstone Meadows lies on a large, partially wooded acreage with spectacular views in all directions. After driving a few miles off route 160, you’ll arrive at a new experience in serenity.

Every clear evening, you’ll get an awesome view of our Milky Way galaxy, spraying across a star filled sky, including those planets that are available during your time of stay. A number of patio tables and chairs are available on the front deck and beyond. We should have booked more than the four nights we did....and have already planned to return very soon.

Harris Court will impress you with delicious breakfasts and informative conversations while an array of wildlife out the nearby window will entertain you while you eat. His unique and large breakfast table is very acommodating. A refrigerator stocked with cold drinks is always available adjacent to the main sitting room.

After viewing Harris’ website and reviewing other Trip Advisor ratings, you too will agree that ALL of his bedrooms are inviting. The comfortable sitting area with the two story stone fireplace and sliding glass doors and windows invite you to sit and enjoy the indoors and outdoors at the same time. Another large common area room is located on a lower level.

I suggest that you make your reservation early, and over the phone.

Room Tip: Book your reservation over the phone to assure you book the room that best meets your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QualityGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We just spent two nights at Flagstone Meadows, all i can say is that this was a PERFECT experience :
- Harris the host was exceptional and very hospitable ( He suggested activities and where to dine as well)
- The rooms are very nice, we had our very own fireplace and balcony
- The breakfasts were excellent and it was very pleasant talking to the others which were also visiting.
- The house itself is very nice,big and welcoming. Trust me, you will feel right at home there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lormster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights at Flagstone Meadows B&B and loved it It is a perfect location to Mesa Verde with a great and the most hospitable host Harris. Harris is an excellent cook and joined us for breakfast every morning. This is no buffet. Harris sets the table with everyone's plate and all guests and Harris sit down and have a nice breakfast. If you are expecting a buffet like some B&B's then I recommend another B&B or a hotel. Conversation was great and this was a good time to get info from the host for the daily excursions. Harris is very informative on Mesa Verde and can provide a lot of tips and suggestions. Wild turkeys and deer pay regular visits to the ranch so keep your camera handy. We like to try different B&B's when we visit areas for a second time, but will make an exception ans stay at Flagstone Meadows again next time.



Stayed August 2011, traveled with family

Room Tip: stay on second floor or ground floor facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgingrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We loved Flagstone Meadows B&B, a perfect location with a wonderful, helpful, kind and the most hospitable host. Harris is an excellent cook and served a varied communal breakfast gathering each morning. We visited Mesa Verde and Hovenweep and found the ranch to be an easy drive from the parks. We found the Mancos area much prettier than Cortez.
Each room was spotless with views over the meadows and surrounding hills. Wildlife and birdlife were abundant, We're so grateful to have found Flagstone Meadows and to experience
Harris's immense hospitality. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to the beautiful SouthWest

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tekkyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
11.7 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
11.3 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
3.7 mi away
Mesa Verde Motel
Mesa Verde Motel
#1 of 3 in Mancos
243 reviews
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 1137, Mancos, CO 81328-1137
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience this beautiful and spacious timber lodge, on 36 serene acres; only 30 minutes to Durango, just 10 minutes to Mesa Verde. Gorgeous 360 degree views of mountains, valley and meadows. Eight charming and uniqely decorated guest rooms each with private full bath; four have decks. Enjoy the soothing Hot Tub, Infrared Sauna, Billards table, Foos Ball, Satellite TV, video library, delicious hearty breakfasts, sunshine days and star-filled nights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing