We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“This is real B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundance Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundance Bear Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Mancos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is real B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Absolutely lovely accomodations, so welcoming and homey--and sparkling clean. Hosts ever so pleasant and supportive; they showed a genuine interest in us as individuals, offered benefit of their experience and helpful information about surrounding opportunities for meals, adventure, and learning opportunities. Bob and Sue demonstrated complete understanding of what a B&B can and should be--in setting (including grounds), furnishings, amenities, and the remarkable breakfast menus!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
86
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ogdensburg, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Beautiful accommodations with a treasure trove of western art surrounding you. Knowledgeable hosts sit with you at breakfast and help you get to know the local area, and when it's time to leave, you don't want to go. Sundance Bear is just 10 miles from the entrance to Mesa Verde, it's close to some good restaurants, and staying there is Southwest Colorado personified. Breakfast is a real gastronomic treat, and you are sitting in a room that makes you want to just stay there and drink it all in. There are two friendly cats and two friendly dogs with personalities to supplement the otherwise homey atmosphere. A real treat all around!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words. Things change quickly, however. Chester, our 16 yr old aussie shepherd, died this week. He has been a wonderful ambassador and passes that mantel to Oreo, the border collie. Many children learned to like doggies after a few minutes with Chester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Sundance Bear Lodge is definitely worth stopping at if you're in the Mesa Verde area.

4 legged hosts Morris, JD, Oreo and Chester, and their 2 legged slaves Sue and Bob made the stay an enjoyable one. We got in exceptionally late on our first night, and Bob, Oreo and Morris made sure that we were well looked after on arrival (If someone tells you to take the scenic route from Denver, leave early and not a midday like us!!).

Our room was a good size, clean and comfortable with an ensuite bathroom. The bed was great to sleep on - very comfortable (almost didn't want to get out of it!).

Breakfasts were hearty and full of flavour and there was a good variety of foods to choose from.

The well set up common lounge area has a great range of novels, and information about the area. Bob and Sue gave us some good tips on what to see and where to eat.

The B&B is also reasonable close to Mesa Verde NP (15-20 minute drive), and other attractions in the area

Highly recommend Sundance Bear as a place to call home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Ah yes...anyone who has pets know they are slaves to the animals! We have 2 cats, 2 dogs, 2 horses. The dogs are our doorbells. Morris is the guest greeter. Bob and I keep everyone well fed! When folks left pets at home, they really enjoy loving our group of animals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My friend and I searched for a weekend-type getaway and found a treasure!!
Easy access, reasonable prices and super comfortable and cozy.
The owners/chefs (Sue and Bob) created breakfast masterpieces!. Their use of local produce along with tried and true recipes, made for a culinary feast.
We will make this place a destination in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
It was a delight to have you gals stay with us, and we hope to see you again. Hopefully you are high and dry in Erie; I have never seen such flooding on the front range in the 16 yrs we have lived in CO. It is raining some more in the 4 Corners but I don't think the rain is headed your direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Sundance Bear Lodge was really excellent Bob and Sue were great hosts and willing to chat or leave you alone, we only spent one night there but would certainly stay there again if the opportunity arises. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast plentiful with good choices. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife, her friend, and I were fortunate enough to spend a night in the Mesa Verde room at the Sundance Bear Lodge whilst travelling through Southwest Colorado. From the moment we arrived Bob and Sue went out of their way to make us feel welcome, so much so that we actually felt like we were family. Sue even did a load of washing for us which, when you are travelling out of a suitcase for weeks on end, was nothing short of a God send. Their dogs and cats obviously get into the Sundance spirit and also made us feel very welcome. And when our friend advised that she had a cat allergy it was absolutely no hassle for Bob to keep the cats from the main living area. They have great books and list of places in their local area but I suggest you sit and have a chat with Bob And Sue regarding this because they are more than happy to share information on their background and also give great recommendations for dinner. (Olio's, otherwise known as Arborena on Trip advisor was fantastic). Our room was comfortable, clean, and homely and we also enjoyed a great breakfast. Would love to have had more time to spend here was the only downside to our stay. Thankyou so much Bob and Sue from your friends in Australia. Marty, Liz, and Bec.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sovereign_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Everything about our four night stay in late May at Sundance Bear was perfect. The owners' stunning collection of native art was worth the trip, or we would have come just for the breakfasts! (plentiful, delicious, home-made, and beautifully presented.) Having snacks available on the counter that we could have at any time was a gracious touch too. The room was lovely -- comfortable bed, lots of big, soft towels and generously supplied with any toiletries a traveler might have forgotten. Sitting in the hot tub looking over the splendid view, picnicking or strolling on the spacious grounds, visiting with the dogs and cats, we felt at home immediately. Chatting with Bob & Sue, however, was the highlight of it all. A more welcoming pair of hosts could not be found anywhere -- fascinating, friendly, funny, informative: we thank them for the most wonderful start to our southwest vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
0.0 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 1,481 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
13.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
12.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
17.6 mi away
Circle K Guest Ranch
Circle K Guest Ranch
#1 of 2 in Dolores
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Bear Lodge

Property: Sundance Bear Lodge
Address: 11555 Road 39, Mancos, CO 81328
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundance Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundance Bear Lodge in Mancos, CO is near Mesa Verde National Park and 30 min. From the Durango Silverton narrow gauge railroad. The foodies in the group will love eating in Durango, at Kenebec, or Olio's! SBL sits on a mesa top with 360 degree views. We have 2 B&B lodge rooms,a log cabin and Forest Edge (guest House). Guests can select their preferred ambiance and level of service. Forest Edge is your optimal vacation rental, with no special check in/out days. Families welcome; bring Fido & Trigger, too. Come play in the great outdoors: lots of history with the Anasazi culture and cliff dwellings -- Mesa Verde is a World Heritage Site. Come to hike, bike, motorcycle and more; lots of day trips with Mancos as your base camp. Open all year. We will bet - you'll want to stay one more day! Sue and Bob Scott, owners/your hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sundance Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing