We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped Us Relax and get in "Vacation " mode”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sundance Bear Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Mancos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We showed up tired and worn from driving for days. after getting unpacked and settled on the comfortable porch, and cracking a cold beer, the magic of Louis L'Amour Country cleaned the City right out of our heads. Both of our hosts were welcoming and informative. I felt like we were visiting relatives glad to see us. the Critters (gentle dogs and shy kitties) were present but not needy.
You are way out in the country, and the only sounds are the occasional car on a distant road, some birds and the charming sound of some of the donkeys braying occasionally on a nearby farm. I loved the ambiance they created.
the facility is a "no excuses" sort of place. Sue and Bob, despite their calm attitude, are first class professionals at the B&B business. they read their guests well and did a great job making a diverse group of folks comfortable.
Being a fan of western and Native American style art, I was disappointed that I did not make more time to enjoy the collection. We did make time for the Jacuzzi and that was a nice plus after a long day of riding trains and Jeeps in the mountains.
some other pluses were Wi-Fi (super fast) library, and great grounds around house to walk around. Oh yes, the food- was home cooked tastiness each morning ready at the requested time (complete with "to go" items.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cottergarage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

This B&B has a very strict cancelation policy. My wife and I had made reservations to stay there recently but our car broke down on the way and the management would not refund us any of our reservation. I'm sure it would have been a fine place to stay, but I cannot in my heart recommend this place to others. The problems with our car also forced us to cancel a couple of other reservations, but the other hotels we were planning to stay at were much more accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank pieter023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceBear, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

We are very sorry this happened to these folks. No one plans car trouble and it is never our intent to hurt somebody’s vacation experience. Ours policies are in line with most B&B and are published / agreed with each reservation. Furthermore, we actually do try to make adjustments where possible. But in this specific case, not all was straightforward and we could not.

Most noteworthy, the reservation was never actually cancelled. Unfortunately we both were caught up in communication inadequacies from Hotels.com, their travel agency. Hotels.com called us 3 days before arrival with a cancellation INQUIRY (our policy is 10 days for no charge). We said we would charge a one night fee per our policy, but that we could reschedule instead for no additional charge. Hotels.com said they would talk to the guests and get back to us. They did not. We called Hotels.com the day before and they reaffirmed the reservation – NOT a CANCELLATION. So, with conflicting communications from Hotels.com, we had no choice but to hold the room for these guests.

*** LESSONS FOR ALL*** (1) B&B cancellation policies are different from motels/hotels. Clearly understand them when you make reservations. (2) It is usually better to contact the lodging directly – when you to make the reservation and definitely if you have problems or special concerns. You get questions answered by folks with 1st hand knowledge. We often can’t help as Hotels.com does not provide sufficient guest contact information to the B&Bs. (3) Consider travel insurance to protect from your unexpected events. Please don’t expect the individual lodgings to cover your risk. Bob and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We were impressed by the beautiful Southwest decorating and friendly hosts, Bob and Susan. We booked the two rooms in the main house for our Colorado trip. Each room had its own bathroom and we felt like we were visiting family. The common area was spacious, comfortable, and gorgeous. We could see Mesa Verde from the deck. Mancos is in between Cortez and Durango, a more popular destination, which was the perfect spot for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjkrupski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

As you arrive at the Lodge you are met by the friendly dogs. Stunning atmosphere and very homely feeling with complimetory snacks. Stunning rooms.
GReat place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlouBulJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Sue, Bob, Chester and Oreo are superb hosts. My boyfriend and I came out for a long weekend and we couldn't have been more thrilled with the cabin and surrounding adventures in the area. Bandit our Australian shepherd got to swim everyday in the pond on the property; so needless to say Bandit says this was the best vacation he has had ever. We all three would highly recommend the Sundance Bear Lodge!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Bob and Sue must be among the best hosts -funny, entertaining, kind, hospitable, intelligent, witty and in short, extremely genial.

The accommodation was perfect and set in glorious countryside so peaceful you could feel it. The stars at night so fantastic we felt we could reach out and touch them. Coming from England, we found Sundance Bear the perfect holiday. One question remains. Why, oh why, did we not stay longer?

THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: Every room has a fantastic view. Best to stay in the main lodge though in order to sample the outsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidandjenny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

"Just act like you're staying at your grandparents" is what Sue and Bob told us, and that is how it felt. What a wonderful stay we had at the Sundance Bear Lodge!

We were traveling with our ten month old, and were welcomed warmly for two nights. She had a great time with the two dogs and cats (something to be aware of before you come though, in case of allergies/scared kids), and we were able to hang out in the living area after she was in bed.

Breakfast was great and filling, the rooms were spotlessly clean, there's a hot tub to enjoy, free (and functioning) wireless, a snack bar, and lots of bathroom goodies. We were also allowed to use the microwave and do some dishes in the kitchen, which was great.

All in all, a wonderful place to stay at when exploring Mesa Verde NP and the area surrounding Mancos.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urlaubsjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mancos hotels
3.4 mi away
Mesa Verde Motel
Mesa Verde Motel
#1 of 3 in Mancos
244 reviews
3 mi away
Ms. Kitty's Country Inn
5.2 mi away
Echo Basin Cabin and RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mancos Inn & Hostel
Mancos Inn & Hostel
#4 of 7 in Mancos
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peaceful Meadows Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Bear Lodge

Address: 11555 Road 39, Mancos, CO 81328
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Price Range: $214 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sundance Bear Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundance Bear Lodge in Mancos, CO is near Mesa Verde National Park and 30 min. From the Durango Silverton narrow gauge railroad. The foodies in the group will love eating in Durango, at Kenebec, or Olio's! SBL sits on a mesa top with 360 degree views. This summer we have a romantic log cabin for rent. It sleeps 4 (queen bedroom downstairs, double and pull out sofa in the loft). It has one bath and a small, fully equiped kitchen - rented self cater. Families welcome; bring Fido & Trigger, too (let us know ahead of arrival). Come play in the great outdoors: lots of history with the Anasazi culture and cliff dwellings -- Mesa Verde is a World Heritage Site. Come to hike, bike, motorcycle and more; lots of day trips with Mancos as your base camp. Open all year. We will bet - you'll want to stay one more day! Sue and Bob Scott, owners/your hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sundance Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing