We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They're trying harder.”
Review of Schmidt's Bakery & Deli - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Schmidt's Bakery & Deli
Restaurant details
Berthoud, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“They're trying harder.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's been awhile since my previous review, so a brief update. The shelves are no longer bare, and the service is mostly friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, they now receive huge shipments of Usinger's deli items, and freeze them. While this works for some sausages and cold cuts, it's not a good idea for others. I got some Usinger's bologna and while the taste was decent, it was water-logged. Clearly the result of having been defrosted. The blood/tongue sausage seems to tolerate the freezing/defrosting better.

I guess the big question is, why not order smaller quantities which can be sold fresh, not after having been frozen?

The challah bread was decent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaps60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“unbeatable”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

these guys made a cake for my mom's 90th b day decorated w a gal at a sewing machine - mom's hobby - which stole the show at her party. i have attended numerous functions in the area over the years and Schmidts is far and away the best bakery wihin 100 miles.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nd2trvmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have lived in Loveland for 5 years and I have tried both the bakery and the restaurant. On a positive not I enjoy the German sausages and the German potatoes. The service was ok and I did not feel the prices were out of line. I don't really care for the bakery. Any baked goods I have bought here were not anything special. That includes bread, cookies and a specialty cake. However, my daughter loved an anniversary cake she bought there for a friend. The staff is friendly, the building quaint. One Sunday there was a musician there for brunch. I just don't feel like it's a place I MUST go to for a nice meal!

Helpful?
Thank nevadavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Deli Sandwiches”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Sit down German restaurant serving specialized sandwiches you won't find anywhere else and the deserts are to die for. There is also a market attached with a meat counter and sweet rolls, cakes and doughnuts that make your mouth water.

Bob Garramone

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rgarramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Original owners”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were on way to airport and decided to try as we heard they were really good. We weren't disappointed, it was great. I think now its owned by someone else and we haven't been there.

Helpful?
Thank Siouxgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmidt's Bakery & Deli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing