We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Spectacular and easy hike” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devil's Backbone Open Space

Devil's Backbone Open Space
Ranked #6 of 53 things to do in Loveland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Spectacular and easy hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I spent the past week hiking around Open Spaces in the Boulder area and this was perhaps the most spectacular one that I did. As other reviewers have noted, one the key things to do is get there early because it is a very popular trail. I also had a few issues finding the Devil's Backbone Open Space because the sign on the road is quite small and my Garmin could not find it at all. The trail itself is an easy walk and you reach reviews of the backbone very quickly. After that point, you can walk several more miles north to the opposite end of the Open Space, but I do not recommend that. Once you are a mile or so past the backbone, the surrounding vegetation and geology is still interesting, but the views are marred by an increasing number of large homes. I just found that depressing. My advice is to walk up to and around the Wild Horse Loop and then back towards the backbone. It's readily walkable at any time of the year.

Visited January 2013
3 Thank Bonasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Only downside to this beautiful space is the number of folks also enjoying it. The earlier the better.

Visited January 2013
Thank Schnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“We love the Devil's Backbone area! - great hiking!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hiking in the Devil's Backbone area is wonderful! The views are awesome! In the late Spring, Summer and early Fall you have to be on the look-out for rattle-snakes - there are a lot of them in this area, but just be aware and on the watch and you will be fine!

Visited October 2012
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Love it. Local, great area for hiking, picnicking, etc. Dogs allowed on leash..:) go enjoy! Also nice for snow shoeing.

Visited June 2012
Thank oceangrl4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Fun Walk on the Wild Side, Near Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This walk is very accessible, since this Open Space area is just off Rt. 34 west of Loveland. You are at the parking area in a few minutes and can be on the trail immediately. The Devil's Backbone looks like just that - a spine-arrangement of rocks running along the ridge. It is quite incredible. The first trail I took was to the left from the parking lot - so you head south. I mostly wanted to see the Backbone from that angle. After some photos, I began the longer trail, heading north. This runs along the eastside of the Backbone. Midweek I had the trail mostly to myself. Definitely, as with most Colorado trekking, carry water! There was a major overlook a couple miles up where there is a break in the Backbone, so you can look west - toward the Front Range mountains. I didn't realize how far the Backbone traveled - at that lookout, the area to the north opens up and you can see the trail goes much further. A man walked past moving very quickly, the trail loops down, ultimately taking you much further north. That longer walk for me will wait for another day. The trail is also marked for horses - at times, it splits for walkers, bikers, horses. The area is clean and kept in good shape, though I picked up some litter as I walked. It is an easy walk, but you do rise in altitude. What I mostly appreciate about this area, you can be on the trail within five minutes of leaving the town of Loveland. One downside, as you walk the trail, to the east there are homes - they've got quite a view, but seeing them, you definitely know civilization is near - but the Backbone is really something to see, so this easy walk is good for families who just want something near town.

Visited September 2012
1 Thank jane_g_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Backbone Open Space also viewed


Been to Devil's Backbone Open Space? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing