We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike or trail run!”

Ranked #2 of 54 things to do in Loveland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hike or trail run!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Gotta love Colorado. Hit devil's backbone for a great hike or trail run any day! My friends and I love this trail for a quick hike not too far out of town. We can do it on a weekend after meeting up at the gym or just when the mood hits us.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    50
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good hiking spot for all ages”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This trail is not among mountains and pine trees, but it is a great place to go for any type of hike you are seeking. We like it because it is close to town, and when we have visitors from "the lowlands," it is a great place for a walk at a bit lower altitude before they head up to the RMNP.

It is best in the early spring and fall because there isn't any tree cover and the Colorado sun can get hot. There are great views for The Keyhole.

One should be aware that there are rattlesnakes in the area, A bike rider was bitten this year. But, we have never sighted one on the shorter hikes. They don't like us any better than we like them. :-)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jjjjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great on cool days”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Close to town. Easy trail. You can go a short circuit or take a very long walk. No trees but great vistas. Historic area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It's a great local area of which you can hike, take the dogs and have a great experience outside. It's so close to town, why go up to the mountains. When you don't have time to travel, explore this area, it's awesome.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank oceangrl4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nature Hike”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Devil's Backbone trail is located just on the west edge of Loveland, easy to access with plenty of parking. Nice views of the mountains to the west, & the valley running north/south. Great rock outcrops as well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CUBuffFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Backbone Nature Trail also viewed

 

Been to Devil's Backbone Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing