We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great year at Sylvan Dale”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Completed our 4th year @ SD in June . Every summer is a delight , no slips here... the service , ranch , people & cabins are first class all the way , Rustic chic I think is catch phrase . My daughter went on the over night with her counselor this year & had a great time . I was put in charge of making the home made ice cream during soft ball night . Vanilla again , next year we are bringing fresh strawberries to liven it up .
My only issue with Sylvan Dale is the week goes by to fast . G

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvandaleranch, Guest Relations Manager at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you Gerry for another great commentary on your summer stay! We love having you and Marie each year. :) Looking forward to next June already!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

This BEAUTIFUL ranch has it all. The cabins are nestled amongst the trees by by the Big Thompson River and the sound of the water will lull you to sleep. Great fishing, for beginners, right thru experienced anglers. Stocked ponds and river angling right out your door. The kids activities are unbelievable. . . helping the wranglers, rock climbing, tubing on the Big Thompson. The evening activities were a blast. . . I never thought softball could be so much fun, but the staff made it great for tots to old folks. I highly recommend this for a family vacation, from kids to grandparents, from nature observers to outdoor activiists. Too many activities to name here. And the horses are excellent. VERY well cared for and all with a calm disposition. You won't find a better place or a better staff

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvandaleranch, Guest Relations Manager at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you Mary for joining us! We had such a nice time hosting you, Chris, and Annie. :) Since you live so closeby, you're welcome to visit anytime. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have discovered my ‘inner cowgirl’ at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch and it has changed my life. My 15 year-old granddaughter and I spent 6 days at this extraordinary Ranch, riding, shooting, singing and dancing, white-water rafting, cow-herding and just hanging out. Sylvan Dale Ranch maintains its family tradition of hospitality and friendliness through the personal dedication and competence of the original founders’ children, Susan and husband David, and David and wife Linda. The family members’ presence throughout the day and evening make a Dude guest feel as if he/she has been personally invited to share their home. And what a home! The week was scheduled to build up to the fantastic conclusion of an overnight 2500 feet up the mountain to Cow Camp. But even if you don’t want to spend lots of time in the saddle, you can still participate in a less-strenuous riding program or take part in other activities. There was one pregnant woman in our group who had a great time doing the easier rides.
If you are even remotely thinking of a vacation with horses in an incredibly beautiful location, Sylvan Dale is for you. It was certainly for me and I can’t wait to return. Thank you Susan, wranglers, and all the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Neville cabin that had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 2 livings rooms. Perfect for 2 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvandaleranch, Guest Relations Manager at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you so much Susan for your wonderful commentary. :) We greatly appreciate our guests sharing their experience through Trip Advisor! I'm looking forward to helping celebrate your 70th birthday during the Spring 2014 Cowgirl Roundup!!! See you again soon, cowgirl.

Happy trails,

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The stay was a huge success from the moment we were shown round the ranch to the moment we left. Accommodation superb; we stayed in a cabin close to the River Thompson. Horse-riding experience excellent - horses well cared for. It was a pleasure to meet Susan Jessup who made us feel totally at home, and delighted in sharing the 'history' of the ranch with us ( also gave us a Ranch souvenir to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary!). All the staff are friendly and helpful and obviously love their jobs. Whilst we were there we joined in with activities that a group of youngsters who on 'retreat' were enjoying - and learned a new game - throwing horse shoes! My husband and I are planning to go back there ( and my husband doesn't really like horses!).

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the 'Sweetheart' cabins, situated close to the River 'Big Thompson...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvandaleranch, Guest Relations Manager at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments. :) We greatly appreciate your honest feedback and hope to see you again in the future. You never know when we will need some more cattle drovers! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Sylvan Dale has the rare distinction of making you feel like family visiting a ranch. The trail hands and Jessup family are friendly competent people. Their is a wealth of activities to choose from and no pushiness. They taught me and my two boys how to ride. Also, good family meals and activities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvandaleranch, Guest Relations Manager at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you, Roger, for your compliments to Sylvan Dale and our staff. :) It was a pleasure to host the Bruneau Family Reunion and we do hope to see you sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family of 4, including our two 8 y.o. girls, took a 1.5 hr trail ride, which we luckily had to ourselves, led by a wonderful guide named Maddie. We were not staying at the ranch, though it looked very nice, but chose this stable based on a personal recommendation and, as another reviewer commented, because I read that many of the horses were bred there. You can tell the horses are well-cared for, which I also feel is important to support. We were led around the ranch and saw mischievous steer, Mikey, the bull, prairie dogs, and beautiful scenery. Afterwards, Maddie took the time to share with our girls watering the horses and replacing shoes. She even gave us some tips for a great follow-up afternoon in Old Town Ft. Collins. This was a highlight day of our CO vacation. We will definitely return for another ride when in the area.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank HaleyJo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvandaleranch, Dude Ranch Vacation Coordinator at Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We value our guests' responses and are so glad you were able to enjoy Sylvan Dale and our horses. Maddie had a great time leading your family through the ranch and would love to see you back again one of these days!

Happy trails!

Karen Burbank
Dude Ranch Vacation Coordinator and Riding Instructor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for just an overnight off season, when they function as a bed and breakfast. The property is just gorgeous and all the facilities seem very nice. In season there is a lot to do. We stayed in the Big Thompson Suite, which is kind of like Grandma's apartment in its decor, but quite large. Would've liked to have seen one of the cabins as they look darling. Breakfast was very nice. A big platter of fresh fruit, eggs, ham, toast, potatoes. Went on a horse ride the following day and were very impressed. We thought it was going to be a boring old trail ride, but we went on a wonderful ride over hills, through a stream, etc. definitely not boring! Would love to go back during the summer to experience all they have to offer. Rocky Mtn National Park right in their back yard is a huge plus for exploring outside the ranch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitestavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loveland
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Loveland
12.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#1 of 31 in Fort Collins
410 reviews
15.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Loveland
12.2 mi away
My Place Hotel - Loveland, CO
17.2 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#11 of 29 in Estes Park
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch

Address: 2939 N County Road 31D, Loveland, CO 80538-9763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Loveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Loveland
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "Best Family Vacation" by Frommer's Colorado guidebook and rated among the "Top Ten Colorado Dude Ranches" by True West Magazine, Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch offers year ‘round outdoor adventure. Conveniently located just one hour from Denver in the Colorado foothills near Rocky Mountain National Park and Estes Park, Sylvan Dale’s 3200-acre working Dude Ranch and Retreat Center is nestled along the banks of Colorado's beautiful Big Thompson River. Offering activities such as cattle drives, trail rides, horseback riding, trophy trout fly fishing, hiking and nearby hunting, nature experiences, tennis, swimming, and many other activities,true adventure awaits you! Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch is perfect for your next vacation adventure! Much more than just an historic working ranch, Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch also provides exceptional services for business retreats and private meetings, holiday parties, picnics, reunions, family vacations, bed & breakfast, weddings, and a variety of exciting outdoor adventures. Sylvan Dale's delicious and healthy Heart-J natural grass-fed beef is also available for purchase. Come experience all that is the beauty of Sylvan Dale! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch Hotel Loveland
Sylvan Dale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing