We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old haunted saloon, awesome bar/restaurant”

740 Front Restaurant
Get food delivered
Ranked #8 of 88 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Description: “One of Colorado's 10 most iconic, historic restaurants and a Must Eat” Denver Post, July 2018 Dine in at 740 Front in Historic Downtown Louisville or enjoy outdoor dining on the nicest patio in Boulder county offering both stand up propane heaters and food heaters at every table. Designated historical, 740 is one of Colorado's two oldest remaining saloons; transformed back to its 1904 roots; a traditional American dining saloon with a turn of the century ambiance featuring a magnificent room dominating bar, built in 1880 by the Brunswick Company,. The copper spit trough, once equipped with running water, still exists along the floor at the front of the bar. Louisville, notorious for its drinking, gambling, and illegal activities. The bar offers a selection of craft beers, wines, handcrafted cocktails and top craft bourbon selections Dinner Tuesday thru Saturday. From casual to fine dining. “Steaks not well done but done well, Something for everyone”
Restaurant details
Description: “One of Colorado's 10 most iconic, historic restaurants and a Must Eat” Denver Post, July 2018 Dine in at 740 Front in Historic Downtown Louisville or enjoy outdoor dining on the nicest patio in Boulder county offering both stand up propane heaters and food heaters at every table. Designated historical, 740 is one of Colorado's two oldest remaining saloons; transformed back to its 1904 roots; a traditional American dining saloon with a turn of the century ambiance featuring a magnificent room dominating bar, built in 1880 by the Brunswick Company,. The copper spit trough, once equipped with running water, still exists along the floor at the front of the bar. Louisville, notorious for its drinking, gambling, and illegal activities. The bar offers a selection of craft beers, wines, handcrafted cocktails and top craft bourbon selections Dinner Tuesday thru Saturday. From casual to fine dining. “Steaks not well done but done well, Something for everyone”
Reviewed February 23, 2018

Second time eating here. Recently dad Valentines Day dinner w/ my hubby here. What a cool old place. The history of the building is awesome to read about, the old wooden bar is amazing and has a great story too, best of all the food is top notch. Even the butter is a great blend, couldn't stop eating it! We had the prime rib for two, was perfectly cooked, a great price $75, huge portion & included potato choice and salad. We took home extras for steak and eggs! I didn't see a ghost but- supposedly haunted- go see old underground tunnels left over from prohibition days.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 158 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2018

We have been twice. The first time we were seated right near the bar and could appreciate the beautiful back bar. On that visit, the kitchen both forgot about our order and ran late with the courses. However, the food was good and the bar tender kept coming out to apologize to us. The second time we came we were seated in one of the back rooms. It was cozy and the waitress was friendly and competent. The food was also good. The menu has a wide selection and so there should be something for everybody. We saw quite a few very large groups enjoying the holidays. Let's see - service is very good, food is good to very good, and atmosphere is on the fancier side. Just the historic beauty of the restaurant is worth it..

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank aleepur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2018

Went to dinner with friends to celebrate the holidays together. We all wanted to go somewhere we had not been before. 740 Front came up as a recommendation so we gave it a try. We were all very pleased with the service, the food, and the atmosphere. We all enjoyed our meals and dessert! Will definitely return again and would recommend to others! And the wooden bar is STUNNING!!! Go just to see that if not for anything else.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lkabernathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2017

Had my son's 21st birthday dinner there will 18 people. The Coal miner's room was perfect-quiet enough to have conversation and to mix and mingle. Our server provided excellent service. People loved their food. It was perfect and we couldn't be more pleased. Thank you!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JJBBMOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017

We have dined at 740 Front Restaurant several times. We enjoy the atmosphere, and the many food options they offer. We are greeted warmly when we enter, and service is always prompt. Their hamburgers are reliably delicious, and their chicken sandwich is also yummy. I particularly enjoy their Chicken Chopped Salad, very unique and flavorful. In addition to their standard menu offerings, they add a variety of special options to try.

If you go there, take time to read the history of this establishment, and look for the bullet hole at the bottom of the bar on the right side.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank COLOHUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 740 Front Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 740 Front Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.