We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great food, atmosphere, service.”
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #12 of 99 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great food, atmosphere, service.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Been going to Taj Mahal III for about 14 years. Probably about 6 times+ per year. Food 99.9% excellent, service always welcoming and excellent, quiet, decor terrific. Very extensive menu for a wide choice. Could go on and on but excellent means excellent and I am picky.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Buylowtravelhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Simple, good Indian food but excellent service”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Taj Mahal Louisville is now close to becoming a landmark for the city of Louisville. The restaurant is easily one of the oldest Indian restaurants in the Boulder county area. As menus go, the Louisville Taj tries but ends up in the same boat as most of the average Indian restaurants. You will find the similar Saag paneer, Tandoori dishes, Chana masala etc. and will NOT find any exotic Indian dishes such as chaat, South Indian fare or even north/east/west Indian fare such as Theplas, Dhokla, etc. However, what is missing in the menu is more than made up in the service. It is excellent. The owner will routinely do rounds and help fix any issues. If you are new, they will check on you several times during the meal to ensure that you are doing good. Lunch buffet is a stable and somewhat predictable option. For dinner, they will bring you complimentary appetizers and dessert. In addition, the rice that is served with the curries is not limited and always well done.
Taj is a restaurant where you go when you want to go eat Indian food on a regular basis. The food is wholesome and based on your choices, extremely healthy. They do NOT put in any artificial ingredients etc. such that my children are always OK eating the food without getting any migraine headaches. In the case of Taj, slow and steady definitely wins the race as far as good Indian cuisine goes in Boulder county. I would have given this place 5 stars if they had added new dishes/choices to the menu. It is amazing that India is such a huge country with close to infinite meal choices but we must need be so challenged when it comes to including things to a simple restraunt menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bharthul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Indian food to try many times”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great authentic indian food to try again and again. In a strip mall but great dekor inside. Fresh ingredients and available in mild, medium and hot. Reasonable prices and good wine list. Pleasant staff. Buffet for lunch. Lots of take out orders.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado
Level Contributor
381 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Indian Food that Satisfies”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

On the outset I have to say I am not a great fan of Indian Cuisine. Some friends of ours had given us a gift certificate for this restaurant and so after carrying the gift certificate around in my wallet for more than six months, we came to use it. What a pleasant surprise. The food was genuinely good. The naan was great and the lamb dishes were excellent. The lamb was fresh with a mild flavor, without the mutton taste you sometimes get from older lamb. They have a wide variety of choices of meats, vegetarian dishes and the level of spice you may like. Well, it was good enough for us to go back and that is an accomplishment,the way I typically feel about Indian restaurants.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant in the West”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

As I meander around the western US and reluctantly have Indian food with my boyfriend, I continue coming back to Taj Mahal in my home town. The service & food here is excellent, and as I've said before in reviews, I usually don't care for Indian food. I even tried a couple highly recommended Indian restaurants in Santa Fe this month (which has pretty good food choices) which I won't be returning to.

Nothing compares to the Taj Mahal.

If you like Indian food, you MUST come here. They are the best!!

Plus, the ambiance is very nice, upscale interior decor and a staff that is so friendly, you'll want to com back just to see them, even if you're not hungry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LP303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

 
Louisville, CO
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing