We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Year Later & Still Wonderful...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #12 of 98 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A Year Later & Still Wonderful...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My last review was over a year ago, although we've been here quite a few times since then. This is the best Indian restaurant I've ever been to in my life, and I don't usually care for Indian food. I go because my boyfriend likes it & I'm a good sport.

Last night we took my parents there & had another GREAT meal. The Saag Paneer & Garlic Naan is to die for. I could eat just that it's so good. The Chicken Tikka Masala was cooked to perfection, as were the other dishes we ordered.

The decor & cleanliness are top notch. The service is great, helpful & friendly.

I even liked the rice pudding and I usually won't touch rice pudding.

The beer & wine selection is respectable - it was quiet, yet busy. Overall, a great experience. I'll be back soon. I also liked how they sat families with young children on one side of the restaurant and adult groups on the other. It made everyone happy.

It's a bit off the beaten path, but if you like Indian food, you're missing out if you don't stop here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LP303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Maine
Level Contributor
92 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Warm environment, decent buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

(Please note that this review is based solely on the lunch buffet; the off-the-menu experience may be different.) The buffet offered mostly "standard fare" but all of it was of good quality. Most of the dishes were a bit too mildly spiced and mildly flavored for my taste, but again it was still all very tasty. I would have preferred more paneer in the saag paneer, more heat in the chicken curry, more character in the various chutneys, and more variety in the number of selections. The highlight of my favorite indian buffets are usually lamb, vindaloo, and dosai; none were present here. Rice was a bit crunchy, having overstayed its welcome over the sterno. We dined close to the end of the appointed buffet hours; I'm sure it was fresher earlier. The fresh naan served to each table was a nice touch, far better than helping yourself from a hotel tray. Service was fine, decor was welcoming. I went back for seconds. Criticisms notwithstanding, this was an enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JPankratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Indian lunch buffet in Boulder county...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I've tried every Indian restaurant in Boulder county I can find. While some have very good lunch buffets, none compares to the quality, flavor, and variety of Taj Mahal. Naan is brought fresh from the oven to your table. Mango Lassi, beer and wine are all available. The sauces are all delicious and very consistent. The salad bar has fresh lettuce and a few dressings, but good enough given you'll want to fill up on the hot dishes and sweet desserts. A ten dollar all-you-can-eat lunch buffet that will leave you wanting to come back. Great place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VRodKaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

delicious indian food, friendly staff, nice ambience and great service.
we have been going here for about 3 years now...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel_loverdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oh yay! Awesome food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Our favorite Indian Restaurant in US is The Oven, Lincoln, NE, and Taj Mahal, Louisville is fabulous. So delicious and authentic. We are thrilled to find such a good Indian food restaurant in CO, even if it is 90 miles from our home in Colorado Springs. We shall return!

Helpful?
Thank Marytata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing