We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for happy hour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Empire Lounge & Restaurant

The Empire Lounge & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Empire Lounge & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 98 Restaurants in Louisville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spruce
Transit: One block from RTD bus stop serving both Denver and Boulder.
Description: Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Louisville, Empire Lounge and Restaurant offers seasonal, classic American bar food and inspired handcrafted cocktails. Featuring local, organic ingredients whenever possible, award-winning Executive Chefs Jim & Connie Cohen use a mesquite wood fired grill resulting in dishes that have an incredible depth of flavor. Empire recently received Zagat ratings that places them in the top ten restaurants on Colorado’s front range. Bar, lounge, dining and private party options available.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place for happy hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

They have openned up the front windows so you can sit outside now. Nice happy hour menu. They do twists on old favorites, so the regular menu has some fun things to try. Lots of other good restaurants right there if you don't like what they have to offer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    32
    19
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great drinks, food, dessert, service. Love this restaurant and will go back. The only drawback was that it was pretty expensive. That will prevent us from coming back as often as we'd like.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Nice, convenient, and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Located right on the main st in town, this place gives you a high quality dinner option locally. Very cute inside. Good menu choices and the food was healthy and tasty. Would definitely go back for a special meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitefox32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, average drinks and food for happy hour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Met a friend for drinks and appetizers and thought the bar and restaurant had a nice vibe and atmosphere, but everything was fairly average. Drinks were okay, food was strangely lackluster (the cheese plate is laughably small and uninspired), and service was unsophisticated. If you want a great happy hour with excellent food and drinks, go to The Kitchen in Boulder. I will probably try this place again for a full dinner with the kids because of the nice vibe. Otherwise, there are more interesting options in Boulder.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SCJ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have eaten at The Empire several times and have never had the same experience. I love eating in Louisville and tried The Empire the first time when family was in town visitng. That night we had a fantastic experience. The service was excellent and everyone in our party enjoyed their dinners. I returned a few months later with friends and was highly disappointed. Our waitress made several errors on orders at our table and was slow to correct them. The food was mediocre at best. Not sure what has changed, but my recent experiences here have not been as good as my first.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hlp74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Empire Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

 
Louisville, CO
 

Been to The Empire Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing