We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the locals go”

Mike O'shays Restaurant & Ale
Ranked #4 of 278 Restaurants in Longmont
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Now that we are officially "locals" O'Shays has become a favorite. After several visits with family and friends I can happily say we have never been disappointed with the food or service. The staff goes out of their way to fulfill requests and even on busy friday nights service was fast and courteous. Prices are fair and the beer is cold. The chicken fried chicken is awesome.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sydney47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    80
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always a great meal!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We love Mike O'Shays in Longmont more than anywhere else for consistently great food and drinks! The staff is always friendly and we never leave unsatisfied.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1happykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Consistently good food.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

O'Shay's puts customer service first. Management is visible and engaged in operations. Good food consistently. They use quality ingredients such as Red Bird chicken. Happy hour is very popular so it is hard to find a spot at the bar. They even offer happy hour nibbles at the bar--which is rare these days.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kempera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best homemade food and desserts EVER!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Located in the middle of downtown Longmont it could easily be missed as one drives on Main St. Most of the parking is in the back on Emery St. O'Shays is hands down the best place to sit and eat a nice meal in Longmont. There are always season appropriate foods like corn beef and hash during St. Patty's Day or the most to die for pumpkin cheese cake in October/November. Whether you want pub food like nachos, or a very nice dinner, this restaurant has it all (along with an entire bar of local beers on tap).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rockiemtnlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
148 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Where everybody knows your name”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Mike O'Shays is always bustling with business. Large bar where locals sit and talk. Dining area not separated from the bar, but who cares? When you go to O'Shays you're going for good food, great drinks, and the feeling that you're in the heart of Longmont. I'll admit that 99% of the time I order their Raspberry Chipotle Salmon Salad; it's delicious! But they have a huge menu and I've never heard of anyone being disappointed. OK, I've ordered their special prime rib a few times and it just isn't top-notch. With so many other things from which to choose, just leave the prime rib to another restaurant that specializes in it. Word of caution: If you're going to O'Shay's, get their EARLY! 5:00 for dinner. Otherwise, you'll be waiting. It gets crowded quickly, and for good reason. If there's room at the bar, have a drink before you're seated. Otherwise, there's a limited waiting area. Once my husband and I said we were going to venture to a nearby book store while we waited. The manager overheard us and actually came to the store to find us; our table was ready ahead of the time we'd been told we'd have to wait! O'Shay's is fun, loud, and friendly. Located in downtown Longmont, so go for lunch sometime and then explore the cute shops on Main Street.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EBS33527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike O'shays Restaurant & Ale also viewed

 

Been to Mike O'shays Restaurant & Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing