We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it here. We come all the time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toast

Toast
Ranked #3 of 417 Restaurants in Littleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love it here. We come all the time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Amazing little diner. I love the pictures drawn on "toast" that hang throughout the building. The owner was really friendly and recommended some great things. We come here all the time now. Everything is good, you cant go wrong. Oh my god the PANCAKES!!!...Thats all i have to say.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KelsieNyshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    80
    25
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Food not as exciting as the menu seems”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We often like to start a lazy Sunday off with a late breakfast where we can have some great coffee and linger with the morning paper and some good conversation.

Toast prides itself on being THE place in the Littleton area for breakfast. This town doesn't have to many breakfast places around so we've been there a few times. To look at the menu, the food descriptions entice the appetite. But the description is where it ends, though. After each meal, I'm let down and I vow never to waste my time again. No more. Enough chances. This was my last visit.

The food here is only just OK and certainly has never lived up to the mouth-watering descriptions on the menu. More often than not, it hasn't arrived at my table at any temperature other than tepid. The 'smoked brown sugar cured ham' is always dry and salty. The potatoes are never cooked the same way twice. "Thick cut honey cured bacon" is not really any better than anywhere else. The different Eggs Benedict type choices are decent, but certainly don't have any 'wow' factor. The Breakfast burrito's are outrageously large and swimming in sauce and cheese, but no better than one you can find in any truck stop across the country. Longing for rich and decadent Biscuits and Gravy? Also no better than any other chain breakfast place. The French Toast and Pancake selections are so ridiculously covered in anything sweet and drippy, the quality of the actual pancake/french toast, is lost under it all. Oreo cookies, praline, whipped cream, Marshmallow Fluff, buttery Foster sauce....too much is WAY too much!

I've also been there a couple of times for lunch...also with high hopes. But if a restaurant has to wax poetic about whatever brand of pears...or bread...or any other ingredient they use...or spout terms like 'house roasted" and 'locally produced'...it is perhaps a way of trying to make things sound better than they really are. Are here, it's never as good as it sounds.

I ordered the Grilled Chicken & Pear sandwich (with Williams’ bon chrétien pears, Swiss cheese, tomato, crisp lettuce, and their house made honey mustard on a grilled roll.) It was sooooo just not good The pears were rock hard and the chicken was dry. The roll itself was so dense and dry that it was extremely difficult to eat. This is just one example of a number of let-down lunches.

But my biggest complain about this place, and the biggest reason I won't be back, is the dining room. In the main dining room, the tables are tiny, barely enough room for two plates and a bottle of catsup. They are painfully stuffed in there so close together, it leaves no room for any hope of a private conversation and a good chance at a close encounter with a strangers elbow. There is no barrier between the front door and the dining tables, so during the winter months, the patrons end up uncomfortably chilled every time someone comes in and out. The concrete floor and high ceiling makes for a loud space. If you end up sitting in the back room, you feel like you've been relegated to the kids table. The atmosphere back there is just strange. I'm never comfortable there, and never feel like I've had a relaxed meal.

The worst of the worst??? There is absolutely NOWHERE for patrons to go when there is a wait for a table. So they congregate anywhere they can...by the front door, in front of the front counter, blocking the aisles and the hallway to the bathroom...everywhere. During this most recent visit, we were told we could sit in our car and they would phone us because it was either that, stand outside in the cold or stand inside with the large group that had already gathered. Can you imagine trying to have a comfortable breakfast with 25 people standing next to you waiting for an open table??? Certainly this place is not worth the trouble and commotion.

I say skip it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tripcrixchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great breakfast selection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place serves the classics as well as an incredible selection of unique items. I highly recommend the savory Santa Fe French Toast with chipolte batter, chorizo, and pico. The blueberry lemon pancakes were also divine with homemade lemon curd, it wasn't too sweet. The place is very small and the parking lot is tiny so I recommend going on a week day or early AM to beat the crowds.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank GojyoChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have been to Toast a number of times, always find the food very good with a nice, friendly wait staff. always say Hi and have a smile on there faces, good resteraunt

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not impressed, don't waste your $$”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I had heard good things about Toast, but was not impressed. Service was terrible, food was really bad, very loud patrons and restaurant was dirty, eating utensils had caked-on old food, yuck. Our family will not return, made us appreciate other restaurants.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCircles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast also viewed

 

Been to Toast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing