We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda creepy cool!”
Review of Delaware Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Delaware Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kinda creepy cool!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I only stayed for one night but thought the service was great. The room was definitely dated but thats what its like in a 100+ year old hotel. It was somewhat creepy because the hallways are pretty dark filled with antique furniture and memoribilia. But there is a 12-ft Santa Claus on the second floor that really spooked me!!

I think it is a must if you happen to be staying in Leadville.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    104
    51
    22
    15
See reviews for
65
131
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

A really nice old hotel with a charm all its own.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Be aware of the stairs however if you have heavy bags. This is a genuine old style western hotel and the stairs are steep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I love staying in old, historic hotels. The Delaware is definitely one of them, full of antiques. Rooms are fairly comfortable and as long as it doesn't face Harrison Street, it's quiet. My only complaint is that the lighting in the room was dim.

Room Tip: If you're not in good shape, request a room on the second floor because there are no elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentGuest444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We read about this hotel and walked in without a reservation. The clerk helped us find a great rate (AARP.) It was quaint, historical, quiet, comfortable, and friendly. The staff gave us recommendations on where to eat and what to see. Even the housekeeping staff took the time to speak with us and give us some history. Great rates and great location. What's not to like? When you are in an old historical town, you should stay here and take in the ambiance.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room but some others said they were not so lucky. We stayed on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa52858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I wanted to be in town and in something historic instead of the same chain hotels . I wanted to remember where I stayed and how can you tell one Comfort Inn from another .
This hotel is old and eclectic. Don't expect a white or beige sterile hospital look. The rooms are warm looking and filled with vintage items and antiques. The hallways are filled with antique pieces. It looks old, feels old and is old. It has a familiar smell like an antique store that you will recognize if you love antiquing . I can see how IKEA fans would be turned off and this hotel is not for you.
I would think kids would like it especially if you added some ghost stories in this old place.
The person at the desk is as pleasant as can be ,the rooms clean and OLD.
The continental breakfast has the usual fare except the fruit seemed fresher . The coffee was better than most and the old library it is served in is lovely and OLD.
This is exactly what I expected and was not disappointed as you can feel the history in this old building and the town .
There is no air conditioning , so if you are extra warm blooded , run , run away . But with the highs in July in mid 70's and the nights 40's we found the temp fine. I really like air conditioning in the summer and will complain loudly if it is too warm so the fact that I did not run away screaming when I saw an electric fan says it all !
Downside that could be improved on and should be , is the mattress . At least in the room we stayed the mattress was pretty hard and uncomfortable. But many people prefer a hard mattress and if you are young , you won't care at all . I
I liked it and if you are not expecting modern and want a feel of the old days ( and like a hard mattress ) , you will be happy with the Delaware .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starsoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trout Lake, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My family of four drove into Leadville wanting to experience something a little different than the Super 8 on the south side of town. Along the main street we spotted the Delaware Hotel and decided to check it out. They had room for us, and I mean ROOM. We got a suite (Number 5) with two huge bedrooms with a pass-through bathroom. One room had two queen beds and a single daybed; the other one had a very tall queen. At the front desk they stated that the room with the one bed was a king, but it wasn't. No worries, there was plenty of space. Each bedroom had a sink as the bathroom held only the toilet and tub.
The furniture, all of it apparently available for purchase, were gorgeous antiques. The matresses were very comfortable and the bedding was new and beautiful. There were plenty of towels. The floors were uneven, so if you're unstable on your feet or use a walker, it might be difficult for you. Obviously, you are in one of the older buildings in Leadville and it exuded history. Quite a fun experience. My teen kids said it was the nicest hotel (read: interesting and unique) they had ever stayed in.
The continental breakfast was a continental breakfast: breads, fruits and cereal, just as advertised. In addition, they had hard-boiled eggs and yogurt. This is served on the second floor amongst even more antiques.
The one beef I had was the archaic TVs located in both of the bedrooms. They are tiny and were either bolted to the wall at about eight feet off the ground or placed on top of a dresser. The remote didn't even work for one of them so it was difficult to adjust the channel and volume. The cord of the other TV was so short that we couldn't move the set to allow two people to see the screen without one person peering around the poster part of the bed.
Overall, if you want to experience a little different flavor than the standard double queen, the Delaware Hotel would be a great alternative.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJT_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Have stayed here twice over the years when visiting family and enjoyed both times. The hotel dates back to the heady days when Leadville was a hard core mining town.

The rooms are smallish with furniture to match the theme. Lots of antiques lining the halls that is for sale. I am glad I couldn't fit anymore into the car! The bathrooms are small without many amenities, but gets the job done.

There are three stories to the hotel with no elevator. Why is this important? You are at 10,200 ft above sea level, not much oxygen at this elevation. Take it easy and allow some time to acclimate to the elevation.

Oh yea, watch out for the spooky Santa on the west end of the second floor.

Room Tip: For less noise, get a room off of Harrison St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leadville
16.2 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
133 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
743 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
137 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Twin Lakes Inn
The Twin Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in Twin Lakes
151 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Green Bridge Inn
The Green Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Red Cliff
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delaware Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delaware Hotel

Property: Delaware Hotel
Address: 700 Harrison Ave, Leadville, CO 80461-3562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Leadville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Delaware Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Delaware Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delaware Hotel Leadville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing