We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mainly atmosphere here.”
Review of Delaware Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Delaware Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We came to the Delaware because it is a historic hotel, built in 1886. Unfortunately, it has some of the drawbacks of a hotel of that age. To begin, the rooms are small--more European than American in feel. The floors are creaky and the rooms are threadbare. The door frames and window sills could tell some tales, judging by the marks they bear. There is no elevator. Be prepared to lug your bags up a steep and narrow stairway at 10,200 feet in altitude! There are no hair dryers in the rooms and our's had no soap. We were told they had run out. One hundred bucks a night and no soap! The halls are cluttered with Victorian furniture and pictures. At the end of one is a really creepy Santa. Fortunately, we were on the other end. They have a bar, with only a few selections. Heineken was one of their three beers but they were out of it. They have a restaurant but it is open on Friday and Saturday nights only. On the plus side, it was quieter than we expected, the bed was good, they offer a continental breakfast, and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. If you want atmosphere this may fit your bill. If you want a more complete hotel experience you can do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. Walking all the way to the third might kill you.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plainsrefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Delaware Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 285 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

OK, this isn't a chain motel. If you are expecting that, don't stay here. Our room was large, pleasant and filled with antiques. The shower location right off the entry door was unusual, but what do you expect in an 1890s hotel that originally had only two bathrooms for the entire hotel. It was a fun experience staying here. Our room looked right out onto the main street, but traffic was quiet in the evening. The breakfast was adequate and we enjoyed talking to fellow guests in the library - breakfast room on the second floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZRockhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I thought it would be a cute old timey hotel with a nice breakfast. It was not. The people were very nice but.... Shower water pathetic, mattress bad, TV was old and tiny and bad, breakfast was very limited and I had to ask for bread and fruit (they ran out), etc.
I will not stay in Leadville again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place is really unusual, and pretty fun. First off, you can hardly find the reception desk for the gift shop. Half of the short time we stayed, there was a woman in an elaborate 1800s costume behind the counter. Our room, the cheapest they had, was as you'd figure, kind of cramped, but otherwise fine. The location is terrific, and people were pretty friendly. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankOff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Delaware May 30 and 31. Nothing but great things to say about the experience. The bed was outstanding and the ambience of an old world hotel was worth the stay. Hotel staff very accommodating behind the front desk and the clean-up crew. Continental breakfast was all you needed. Room was nice and clean. Rates reasonable and great parking in private lot across the street. Will stay here next trip to Leadville.

Room Tip: No elevators. If handicapped, choose second floor. No need for air conditioning.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al8packer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We forgive historic properties a LOT , but the Delaware just doesn't make up for its shortcomings with the quaintness it has. As previous guests have noted, it's a bit like something out of Hoarders. They don't know when to stop cramming stuff in. The lobby is slightly claustrophobic with all the frou frou. The check-in was fine, but the numbers on the keys aren't the numbers on the room doors. Key number 209 unlocks room 9 on the second floor. The stairs with luggage are a hassle at this altitude. Our room was quite small. There's a small fridge but no coffee making facilities or micro-wave. First time I've seen pillow shams lying on top of the pillow with nothing in them. The TV is small and old. The bathroom is a serious disappointment. Tiny, no tub. The light switch takes some looking. It's behind the door. Some of the carpentry is less than standard - the headboard had a lot of wiggle.

Walls are thin. Can hear everything in next room, including footsteps.

The continental breakfast is acceptable, though I dislike having a TV broadcasting infomercials when I can't change the channel.

Location fantastic. The staff very nice and helpful.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My needs were simple--a clean room that was inexpensive. Those needs were certainly met and more--the extras include: a classic 1880s hotel with appropriate furnishings and a very helpful staff. This was a great value and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalidaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leadville
16.2 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
137 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
770 reviews
20.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Leadville
144 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Twin Lakes Inn
The Twin Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in Twin Lakes
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delaware Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delaware Hotel

Address: 700 Harrison Ave, Leadville, CO 80461-3562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Leadville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Delaware Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Delaware Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delaware Hotel Leadville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing