We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Columbine Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
541 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Columbine Inn in Leadville, CO for two nights in September. We booked in advance because we were staying during the Labor Day weekend. The hotel was totally booked on Saturday night. We stayed in a queen room for $75 a night. The room seemed clean and everything worked fine. The TV was old but ok. There are not many hotels in Leadville and this hotel seemed to be the best. I have seen much better but not in Leadville. The lobby was decorated nice and breakfast area was clean. The breakfast consist of cereal, pastries, food bars, boiled eggs, milk, coffee and juice. Get a room on the back and second floor for a good view of the mountains. There is no pool and the hot tub was out of service. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back and second floor for a good view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    53
    26
    6
    13
See reviews for
42
54
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Columbine Inn was very nice and clean. I would have given it a 5 rating but there was no elevator and was traveling with my 83 year old mother but we managed. Room was nice and had comfortable beds. Average continental breakfast was available but satisfying. The employees were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The North Shore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We've been to Leadville infrequently over the years, and very little has changed in this former mining boom town. Columbine Inn is one of the pleasant changes in the highest city in the US. We had a very large room in the front of the hotel on the second floor, right over the entry. Very comfortable king bed and spacious bath. Even a jacuzzi tub in the room (didn't use). View of the Collegiate Range and the only street in town. Located on the north end of Leadville, it was very quite after dark. Staff seemed indifferent. Complimentary breakfast was dry cereal and pre-packaged pastry. In a small town on a little-travelled road, there aren't many lodging choices. Columbine Inn seemed the best of the bunch. Loads of hanging flower pots are a visual invitation.
BEWARE: The 10,152 ft. elevation makes sleeping difficult if you haven't been at altitude for awhile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrWizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The room we were given was small with a queen sized bed, an older style television, mini-fridge and only 2 straight backed chairs. The bathroom was European sized small, about 5x5 with a small tub and toilet. Very few electrical outlets (come on motel/hotel owners, get a clue. We need to charge all of our stuff.) Pillows were hard and uncomfortable but the mattress was fine. A dining room open at 630 serves a buffet style breakfast similar to so many motels these days ie cold cereal in bulk containers, coffee, juice, hard boiled eggs, cheap looking danish and bagels and some fruit. Downtown area with it's few restaurants is a short drive or a long walk away, maybe a mile. A Safeway is just about a block from the motel. The location is very convenient, right off of 91 and rooms are quiet.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms, but I might have opted for something larger with comfortable seating in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dumoyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, FL
Level Contributor
276 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is still likely the best place to stay in town for the money. However it is in serious need of updating. The furniture has always been tired, but the mattresses are beyond tired - they should have been replaced years ago. The carpet should also be replaced. The place is clean and generally well kept, and the staff when you can find them is attentive. It is nice that the owners are generally close by – they seem to care.

The recently remodeled breakfast area is way nicer than it once was, but the offerings are substandard (all carbs, no protein). There once was a hot tub offered but no longer (“Obama’s fault”). The room is to be turned into a laundry for guests.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the parking lot - nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VillagerRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've stayed at most of the other hotels in Leadville, and without a doubt, Columbine Inn is our new favorite. I just regret that I didn't discover it sooner. Owners take obvious pride in their hotel - the flowers are amazing. It's clean and quite reasonable. The breakfast is good (great crumbcake muffins!) but could use a protein option - yogurt, eggs or even just peanut butter. Bring your own since they do have a good selection of bread and bagels. Other than that, it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were in Leadville and looking for place to spend the Tuesday night. On WiFi at local coffee shop (City On a Hill, downtown, quite nice) desperately searching for local motel deal. Tried all the normal finders (Hotels.com, priceline, expedia) with little success. Finally called up Columbine Inn and got good rate over the phone. Come on down.
Room was clean, tidy, and quiet. Well-run. The bathrooms were exceptionally clean, almost new. Continental breakfast was simple, but the coffee and OJ and danish were fine by me. Wife did oatmeal and was happy.
All in all... just what the doctor ordered. Quiet, clean, restful night. Would do again in a heartbeat. Filet mignon at Quincy's downtown was GREAT!

Room Tip: Think about which view you want... both sides have different but good views of surrounding mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCOnABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leadville
0.9 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
16.3 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
19.3 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Leadville CO
Super 8 Leadville CO
#5 of 8 in Leadville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Green Bridge Inn
The Green Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Red Cliff
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Fairplay Hotel
The Fairplay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fairplay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn & Suites

Property: Columbine Inn & Suites
Address: 2019 N Poplar St, Leadville, Leadville, CO 80461-3356
Location: United States > Colorado > Leadville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Columbine Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbine Inn And Suites
Columbine Hotel Leadville
Columbine Motel Leadville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing