We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Leadville, Colorado & Southern Railroad
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Leadville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Twin Lakes, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Breath taking views of the mountains while riding in open air or closed cars. Spring with the wild flowers in bloom or Fall with the beautiful tree colors are the prime times to ride. A stop at the "old water tower" give you a chance to stretch your legs and enjoy the view

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernie-Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    131
    34
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Do the Fall Colors tour”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

What we liked about the fall colors tour (I think it only runs for about three weekends) is it goes to the end of the line at Climax, Colorado and the conductor explains the history of the rail and the connection with the mine. Some people may find this railroad a little more uneventful than the Durango/Silverton train, but in many ways my wife and I enjoyed this one more. You can move around on the train and sit inside and enclosed car, inside a covered car with open windows, or sit out in an open car on fairly comfortable seats. Apparently some pets are allowed on the train as some people brought their smaller dogs on board. We liked the fact that at the mid-point headed back to Leadville they stop at the water tower and let you get off of the train and wander around to take pictures and stretch your legs. You can go into the caboose and in the front engine which is a treat for kids! We had a pleasant and sunny day which made the trip that much more enjoyable. The other thing I found intriguing from a historical standpoint is in many places along the way there were remnants (on the North side?--left side when headed to Climax, Colorado) of telegraph poles and the actual telegraph lines tangled in the trees next to the tracks. When you think about it the telegraph system in this country was our first "Internet". I took some pictures of this. The conductor also pointed out various starter pits (mining) and other items of environmental and historical interest. If you visit Leadville and like trains this is a must. Too bad they don't advertise more in Denver. I think they would increase their ridership if they did. I spoke to a number of "native" Coloradans who didn't even know there was an active historic train tour in Leadville.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DenverFoothills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“What views”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Leadville is the highest incorporated town in Colorado. I think the best time to take the train is in the fall. The Aspen trees are bright, vibrant yellows, oranges, and reds. Then ad the contrast of the dark evergreens makes for breathtaking views.
This is a good family activity or a couples attraction. They offer food and drinks on the train. During the train they make a couple of stops where you can get off train and walk around and stretch your legs. If you want to take a tour of the engine they will let you walk through it.
I thought it was a lot of fun and would do it again. It's loaded with history

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jcrumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hop aboard this scenic train ride and travel 1000 ft. above the valley floor!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

You will definitely enjoy this train ride and view spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains. This ride is about 3 hrs. long with a stop at a water tower to get out and stretch your legs and view either the inside of the caboose or the engine. There are open and enclosed viewing cars. You can step back in time to the days when Leadville was a major mining town. There are wildflower and fall photo train tours where you travel among the aspen and evergreens. The train runs from the end of May to early October. Tickets can be ordered in advance by using their website. One additional enhancement is that a conductor narrates your tour! There is even a snack/souvenir car in the middle of the train! The staff is friendly and the views are spectacular! There is ample parking by the depot - easily located a few blocks off the main street in downtown Leadville. You won't want to miss this railroad ride! All aboard!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed the Engineer, Conductor and office staff. Denise the Conductor gave a very informative narration of the area. Dennis the Engineer was fantastic. My husband is also an Engineer and they had a great time comiserating. Don't miss this oportunity to ride this railroad. The scenery is gorgeous and the people are hometown friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bearwoman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leadville, Colorado & Southern Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Leadville, Colorado & Southern Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing