We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leadville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver King Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Leadville
Allen, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Booked a room at this hotel mainly because we could not find any other affordable rooms due to our late booking date. The hotel was older but our room was clean the staff was friendly check in was smooth the location was excellent the breakfast was good I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim-from-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    49
    28
    15
    8
See reviews for
36
64
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I found this on the web and it was the only decent place we saw in this small town. They had a great breakfast and clean rooms for $80.00. It was not air conditioned so we slept with the door open one night to get a breeze, imagine what the other places in town were like!

Room Tip: Room 119 was better than the first one 129 we stayed in since it had a better breeze, the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pej60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Silver King is probably the best value in town. We have been to Leadville several times and this was our first stay at the Silver King. We stayed for 2 nights. There are not many options in Leadville and the Silver King is not a bad one. Since Leadville is so remote the hotels charge a premium. They know there just are not many options. The continental breakfast just made the Silver King an even better value. But do not expect too much. BTW - few Motels in the mountains have air conditioning.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the mountain side not the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
141 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Since the temp has been record high, the room was very warm, and we could do nothing about it since the rooms do not have air conditioning - remember, we are up in the mountains. We had to sleep with the window open - we were on the first floor - not too safe, huh? So we could hear all the traffic (the hotel is located on a busy highway). Our room and my friends' room were dirty, we could hear every footstep of the person above us, the ice machine was broken, and the maid didn't even bother replacing the empty tissue box. When we first walked into our room, it smelled like stale smoke and sewer problems. The continental breakfast was okay - typical free breakfast - nothing to write home about. I am from this area and had qualms about staying here, but could not find another hotel in town.

Room Tip: Try staying at the Delaware Hotel downtown. It is quaint, clean, and has the best location in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshtheFoodMonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Pros: Very inexpensive, large room, clean bathroom, microwave and small fridge
Cons: carpet was dirty, no air conditioning (but guy at desk gave me a fan), basic breakfast with waffle maker, noise from ice machine right next to our room
Would not have stayed in the room we got for more than one night.
Overall it was an okay place to stay for one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building on the second floor so that you can open the window if it is war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaWineaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Check-in was bizarre - staff seemed unable to figure out how to check in one person when another staying in the same room wasn't right in front of her. Odd and not welcome when you only want to get into your room. Room was large and well laid out. Furniture sub-standard. Bed bad and that's the bottom line. Woke up aching - most unusual. Wouldn't stay here again. Decent breakfast, staff there not bad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

After reading other reviews, I was anticipating some noise, but the intense orchestra of creaks from the room above us still surprised me. On top of that, we could hear every little thing said outside and every time that water was run nearby. I'm a heavy sleeper and still was woken up by the people above us getting up for the bathroom in the middle of the night and again in the morning.

But otherwise the rooms were comfortable, the front desk staff was incredibly nice, breakfast had satisfying options, and we were able to walk to everything we wanted to in town. So, I might come back, but only if I knew I was getting a room on the upper floor.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurascudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leadville
0.8 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 9 in Leadville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
16.3 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
19.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 9 in Leadville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columbine Inn & Suites
Columbine Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Leadville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver King Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver King Inn & Suites

Property: Silver King Inn & Suites
Address: 2020 N Poplar St, Leadville, CO 80461-3357
Location: United States > Colorado > Leadville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Leadville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the top of the Rockies! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver King Inn And Suites
Silver King Hotel Leadville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing