We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to see”

National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Leadville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A lot to see”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We thought that $7 to get in was well worth it. Even if you are not into mining and minerals, it was interesting to see.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lbkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    85
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mining Museum”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Ask for AAA Discount & if you are a senior ask for that. Comes out to $5 per senior. Goes on & on. Lots to see. Could take 2 hours to really view everything. Very good staff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Really nice museum - lots to see - great value”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Loved this museum, we just happened to see a sign and decided to visit. Wow, 5 levels of wonderful items to see about mining and what can be mined. Beautiful rocks, crystals and samples of all the stuff that can be mined. Also on the 5th floor are histories of people who have given themselves for this industry. I really loved this place. There is also a gift shop and an art area with very reasonable priced merchandise from handmade pottery to paintings. It is a MUST see for anyone even with children. Also from the front of this building you can see the city of Leadville which I found to be very interesting old city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dfwbarberstylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I sort of stumbled upon this place while passing through Leadville in early April. Although mining is not one of my major interests I nonetheless decided to check the place out. It was certainly worth the $7 price of admission. The place is sprawling and I could easily have spent several hours there if not pressed for time. Although I made it through the entire museum I certainly rushed several areas that I would have enjoyed spending more time in. There is much information available and the curators have done a great job presenting it. I especially enjoyed the walk-through exhibits (of which there are several) simulating old mines and the like. The diorama room was also very neat and it's refreshing to see that older style of presentation and not just some slick web video on a screen. The museum is well-balanced with exhibits for kids, adults, and both. Even if you have only a cursory interest in mining or for that matter American history this place is definitely worth a stop be it for an hour or longer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ndap987s3w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Museum”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

For the cost, this attraction is a real gem. A HUGE museum, it does a fantastic job of covering all aspects of mining. The walk-throughs are not to be missed. The drive from the north and east was worth the trip alone!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Divemasterking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Mining Hall of Fame & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing