We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boss man should learn customer service and teach his crew!”

Silver Dollar Saloon
Ranked #15 of 30 Restaurants in Leadville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: A bar/restaurant full of history and memorabilia. Great food and hospitality. Photos allowed and info on the back of the menu.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Boss man should learn customer service and teach his crew!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Party of 8, mostly ordered cheeseburgers. Simple ticket, but when delivered there were only 6 meals. The server looked like she wasn't feeling well, but was observed writing the ticket. Boss man delivered, asked what the remaining two orders were and said they'd be right up. 15 minutes later, the table finished their meals and still no sign of the first and seventh order made! Finally they arrived with no apology from boss man, but an apology from the server. Wasn't her fault from my perspective. We weren't charged for these two meals, but never got an explanation of the comp. Boss man, you need to step it up and share some customer service skills with yourself and the crew.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EatDanceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    39
    47
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of atmosphere.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

You'll love the decor. The menu was very limited, this is definitely a watering hole, but a fun one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good watering hole, that's all!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a great historic bar with the old west still alive inside, hence the smell. The place is actually not that bad, but I've been to some real old bars that can still be cleaned and look decent. The restrooms need tons of work, you don't need to actually replicate an outhouse! The beer is the only real good thing here, it works well with all the stories told here. I tried the chili and it was fairly decent, maybe a bit to spicy for some. The pizza could use more spices, as it was a bit bland. Overall this is a great story telling bar, but not much else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddelite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Historic place, good cheeseburger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stopped in Leadville for late lunch on my way South on a Friday. There wasn't much happening anywhere during my few days in central Colorado since it was after ski season and a bit early for other outdoor activities, so I wasn't surprised to find some things closed and a slim crowd everywhere else. The Silver Dollar Saloon caught my attention, it was open, and there was free parking nearby, so that's where I decided to stop. There were only about 6 or 8 other people inside. Remember, it was mid Friday afternoon during 'mud season.'
Like a couple of others have mentioned, the service could certainly be better. And, the menu is limited, in fact less stuff on there than I expected. But, my cheeseburger and fries was very good. My server was pleasant, but wasn't the fastest by any means. But, since I was in no hurry and enjoying a break from the road, I didn't mind. There is plenty to look at in this historic building, so relax and look around. So, if you're passing though, do like I did and relax a while and enjoy a cheesburger.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thetractorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Limited Selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The pizza was really good, but there's not much to the menu. Probably a better place to sit around and have a beer. Not the place to find good grub.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Meac T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Dollar Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Silver Dollar Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing